Master sketch + Shapebinder

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
User avatar
Hannu
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:12 pm
Location: Strängnäs - 1hr drive west from Stockholm, Sweden

Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby Hannu » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:08 pm

Hi

I'm having trouble with Shapebinder not displaying anything in the current body, what am I missing?

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15860 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 3b708c7f84b0425076b520e1d95627b20fd75fe0
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Attachments
ElectronicsOutdoors_v3.FCStd
(14.77 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
/Hannu
User avatar
Hannu
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:12 pm
Location: Strängnäs - 1hr drive west from Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby Hannu » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:59 pm

Forgot one thing...

Tools > Dependency Graph
Fails miserably on the attached thingie.
/Hannu
Bance
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby Bance » Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:31 pm

Make the body you wish the shapebinder to reside in active by double clicking it (it should have a blue background,) then select shapebinder tool, and select reference geometry, close dialogue, the shapebinder will reside in the body but will not be visible if the ref geom is still visible, make ref geom invisible and the shapebinder appears!

HTH Steve.
chrisb
Posts: 14094
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby chrisb » Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:45 pm

Hannu wrote:
Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:08 pm
I'm having trouble with Shapebinder not displaying anything in the current body, what am I missing?
It isn't missing. Hide Sketch001 to see the ShapeBinder.
User avatar
Hannu
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:12 pm
Location: Strängnäs - 1hr drive west from Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby Hannu » Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:53 pm

Ahh... Make the relevant BODY visible (press space), there are many ways to make mistakes.
/Hannu
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18210
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby NormandC » Mon Feb 18, 2019 2:23 am

Hannu wrote:
Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:59 pm
Tools > Dependency Graph
Fails miserably on the attached thingie.
Not for me. And it shows a linking error (the red arrow).

FC_Hannu_ElectronicsOutdoors_v3_DepGraph_01.png
FC_Hannu_ElectronicsOutdoors_v3_DepGraph_01.png (88.05 KiB) Viewed 236 times

You cannot attach an external sketch to a plane inside a Body, the sketch needs to be inside the body. Either detach your sketch from Body's XZ_Plane and just let it be "free floating", or create a Part container (Std Part) that will contain the three bodies, and attach the sketch to the XZ_Plane plane of the Part container.

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15897 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 36dc7b42425dcb08abf6313c6dee6ce306b7bcdc
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/Canada (fr_CA)
User avatar
Hannu
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:12 pm
Location: Strängnäs - 1hr drive west from Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby Hannu » Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:02 pm

NormandC wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 2:23 am
You cannot attach an external sketch to a plane inside a Body, the sketch needs to be inside the body. Either detach your sketch from Body's XZ_Plane and just let it be "free floating", or create a Part container (Std Part) that will contain the three bodies, and attach the sketch to the XZ_Plane plane of the Part container.
Hmm... The intent was to keep it as clean as possible, i.e. to use the "Master Sketch" principle fully.
I seem to have failed with that.
edit: Hrm? How do you create a sketch WITHOUT attachment? - NOT click on any of the options? I haven't even considered that possible...
Detach => Sketch WB, Attach to plane and select "Do not attach" at the end?


I also have a more evolved file now (too large to attach, dropbox -> https://www.dropbox.com/s/eij69uae1a67p ... FCStd?dl=0)
and seem to not have got it built in way that allows changes to the "Sketch_Master"
(all named constrains except "ringCenterRadius" should allow adjusting... and as always; Fillets fail, but didn't really expect anything else).

And also here i get a crash; /usr/bin/dot (from graphviz, in bezier)
as I try to use dependency graph.
/Hannu
DeepSOIC
Posts: 6388
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby DeepSOIC » Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:30 am

Hannu wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:02 pm
Hrm? How do you create a sketch WITHOUT attachment?
Create the sketch from within Sketcher workbench, not PartDesign.

You can also detach a sketch using attachment editor, which can be invoked by clicking "..." button next to MapMode property of the sketch in property editor.
User avatar
Hannu
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:12 pm
Location: Strängnäs - 1hr drive west from Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Master sketch + Shapebinder

Postby Hannu » Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:02 pm

Based on this discussion https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 23#p288623
I guess there is at least one redundant constraint in "Body_Top > Revolution > Sketch002" - in the file on dropbox (v4, not the initial file).

This does not show, the sketch is "Fully Constrained" with green lines all over.
/Hannu