Head screw doesn't fit very well with hole feature

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Head screw doesn't fit very well with hole feature

Postby GlouGlou » Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:09 pm

I think the hole feature make the head screw not fit very well. Why not allow to adjust manually the parameters when threading is selected?
Here the head CHC screw is sticking out.
Attachments
Capture.png
Capture.png (76.62 KiB) Viewed 213 times
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18208
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Head screw doesn't fit very well with hole feature

Postby NormandC » Wed Feb 20, 2019 3:56 am

Please do not post suspected bugs here. Read the description for the forum. Are you offering code to fix the issue? No? Then it has no place here.

Read up the bug reporting guidelines in the Help forum please. It is perfectly clear: suspected bugs should be discussed in the Help forum.

EDIT: thanks to the anonymous moderator who moved the topic to the Help forum.
Last edited by NormandC on Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2554
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: Head screw doesn't fit very well with hole feature

Postby meme2704 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:33 pm

I have the impression that the standard took in reference to define the correspondence dimensions for screw head milling is the US standard, because whatever the type I test none goes in metric.
Why not talk about it here, is it better to put dust under the carpet?
Would it delay V18 to finish turning around the corner?
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2554
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: Head screw doesn't fit very well with hole feature

Postby meme2704 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 3:57 pm

I'll go back to the answer after checking
In US, right image there is only 2 type of screw head, and we have access to all setting parameters
In "European" we have 5 possibilities but none allow access to the setting, and it's bullshit
Attachments
Cape screw.FCStd
(72.58 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Cape screw.PNG
Cape screw.PNG (35.71 KiB) Viewed 100 times
kisolre
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Head screw doesn't fit very well with hole feature

Postby kisolre » Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:21 pm

Maybe there are not standard bolt head/nut dimensions defined in UTS so these were not implemented as fixed values? But maybe it should be that the selection of thread type and size just sets the expected thread values but does not prevent the user from modifying them.
I also noticed something else is strange - If you create a hole without thread profile selected, exit hole creation - all Ok. Enter hole edit, select thread profile, exit edit - Ok. Enter edit, set profile to none - error "Thread size out of range" when trying to accept the changes.
ThreadSize.JPG
ThreadSize.JPG (75.73 KiB) Viewed 95 times
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Head screw doesn't fit very well with hole feature

Postby GlouGlou » Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:32 pm

by selecting ISO sizes, depth and diameter can't be changed. But for the US, its allowed. :roll:
NormandC wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 3:56 am
It is perfectly clear: suspected bugs should be discussed in the Help forum.
Sorry about that.
Attachments
Capture.png
Capture.png (31.13 KiB) Viewed 78 times