Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
rowan.bradley
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 3:48 pm

Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Postby rowan.bradley » Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:34 pm

How do I print a sketch with constraints (i.e. dimensions) but without the grid? I can do it with dimensions by setting the background colour to white, but it still prints the grid, and I can't find an option to turn off the grid or to make it white.

Thanks - Rowan
openBrain
Posts: 492
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Postby openBrain » Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:37 pm

Hi,

You can disable the grid in the Draft workbench. ;)

Edit : Draft -> Utilities -> Toggle grid ; or use the keyboard shortcut G,R
rowan.bradley
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 3:48 pm

Re: Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Postby rowan.bradley » Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:48 pm

Thanks for your suggestion. I can't get this to work. With grid enabled it looks like this:
FreeCAD With Grid 190218.png
FreeCAD With Grid 190218.png (109.64 KiB) Viewed 144 times
With grid disabled it looks like this:
FreeCAD No Grid 190218.png
FreeCAD No Grid 190218.png (108.03 KiB) Viewed 144 times
I want all that grey fuzz in the background to disappear. How do I get this to happen?

Thanks - Rowan
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18158
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Postby NormandC » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:01 pm

openBrain wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:37 pm
You can disable the grid in the Draft workbench. ;)
Which does nothing for Rowan because as he already said and showed with screenshots, he's working in the Sketcher, not Draft workbench. They have separate grids.

When you're in sketch edit mode, there's a checkbox in the Tasks tab to show or hide the Sketcher grid. The reason it looks fuzzy is that the squares of the grid are small, default is 10mm but it can be changed.
kisolre
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Postby kisolre » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:04 pm

While editing the sketch Tasks Panel/Edit Controls/Show Grid:
ShowGrid.JPG
ShowGrid.JPG (56.77 KiB) Viewed 136 times
rowan.bradley
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 3:48 pm

Re: Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Postby rowan.bradley » Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:08 pm

Thank you. That was the answer. I had not explored all the hidden controls in the tasks tab.

Now I can print my drawing as I need it!

Thanks - this is a very helpful forum

Rowan
openBrain
Posts: 492
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Postby openBrain » Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:05 pm

NormandC wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:01 pm
openBrain wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:37 pm
You can disable the grid in the Draft workbench. ;)
Which does nothing for Rowan because as he already said and showed with screenshots, he's working in the Sketcher, not Draft workbench. They have separate grids.
Below a screenshot to show you how it is definitely possible that the Draft grid appears in Sketcher WB (even in edit mode).
I thought to this because OP said he can't turn it white, while the Sketcher grid is white (or almost) by default.
Also notice that at time I answered I didn't have any screenshot or file to refer to...
Shortly said, I found easy to quote this answer as bad while oppositely, these one leads to Rowan giving you extra clues to get the right answer...
grid_on.png
grid_on.png (26.53 KiB) Viewed 123 times
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18158
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Printing Sketch with dimensions but without grid

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:43 pm

openBrain wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:05 pm
Below a screenshot to show you how it is definitely possible that the Draft grid appears in Sketcher WB (even in edit mode).
I never disputed that. But Rowan never mentioned using Draft, and the obvious first shot is the Sketcher grid itself.

openBrain wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:05 pm
Also notice that at time I answered I didn't have any screenshot or file to refer to...
I'll grant you that, apologies.