0.18 maybe a bug in PartDesign?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
user1234
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

0.18 maybe a bug in PartDesign?

Postby user1234 » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:28 pm

Hello!

I maybe run in a bug in PartDesign.

I changed someting in the tree and FreeCAD refuses to refresh the tree. I want to mention that i also rearranged all topoligial issues before (chamfers, fillets, ....). It is a simple substractive primitive, that won't work, but all conditions should be correct.
01.png
01.png (61.99 KiB) Viewed 202 times
02.png
02.png (64.68 KiB) Viewed 202 times
03.png
03.png (75.48 KiB) Viewed 202 times
04.png
04.png (97.81 KiB) Viewed 202 times
Version

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux buster/sid
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15935 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: afc44af3e9996419d457d02c9dde897f27b55341
Python version: 3.7.2+
Qt version: 5.11.3
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Can somebody confirm this issue?

Sorry for bad english.
Greetings
user
Attachments
bug.FCStd
(220.19 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
chrisb
Posts: 15271
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: 0.18 maybe a bug in PartDesign?

Postby chrisb » Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:40 am

Yes I can confirm. It seems to be a problem with recomputing. If I move the subtractive cylinder before PolarPattern024 and then move it back it all works.

Besides it is recommended to add chamfers and fillets last or at least late in the modeling process.
GeneFC
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: 0.18 maybe a bug in PartDesign?

Postby GeneFC » Wed Feb 20, 2019 1:53 am

I had no problem recomputing, but Cylinder018 has an error symbol in the model tree. Looking at the Dependency Graph it seems that Cylinder018 is trying to subtract from nothing, i.e. no base feature. It is linked only to the coordinate system.

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (37.87 KiB) Viewed 188 times

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15860 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 3b708c7f84b0425076b520e1d95627b20fd75fe0
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

Gene
chrisb
Posts: 15271
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: 0.18 maybe a bug in PartDesign?

Postby chrisb » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:11 am

Interesting find. I can repair it even faster than mentioned above, if I place it with "Move object after other object" directly behind PolarPattern024, where it was already before. This results directly in the following correct dep. graph:
Bildschirmfoto 2019-02-20 um 09.07.19.png
Bildschirmfoto 2019-02-20 um 09.07.19.png (31.6 KiB) Viewed 171 times

It would be interesting to reproduce this.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: 0.18 maybe a bug in PartDesign?

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:31 pm

Off topic reply, just to say that FreeCAD looks great with a white background. I think I'll try it, and change the default part color to a light blue... Grey makes the whole thing a little dull. :)