Ticket #3915 - v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Geoplace
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:49 pm

Ticket #3915 - v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Geoplace » Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:04 pm

Hi

I just trying FreeCAD v0.18 and I often work freecad files from 2 different machines. I having troubles with the show/hide image.

1.- Open FreeCAD v18 in OpenSuse OS.
OS: openSUSE Leap 15.0
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.Unknown
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.5
Qt version: 5.9.4
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Spanish/Spain (es_ES)

2.- Switch to Image workbench and use “Create a planar image in the 3D space”

3.- Scale the image using the formula function.
size scale.png
size scale.png (9.74 KiB) Viewed 760 times
4.- Modify its placement in the X axis by 80 cm.

5.- Hit the spacebar key to hide the ImagePlane we’ve just created.

6.- Save the file and close the linux FreeCAD.

7.- Open FreeCAD v18 in Windows OS.
OS: Windows 8.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16093 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 690774c0effe4fd7b8d2b5e2fb2b8c8d145e21ce
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Spanish/Mexico (es_MX)

8.- Open the File created before.

9.- Select the ImagePlane in the Model View TAB.

10.- Hit the spacebar (Toggle Visibility) to show the ImagePlane.

11.- The image didn’t show. And the Report View throw this message:

Report View:
Unhandled Base::Exception caught in GUIApplication::notify.
The error message is: Access violation

imageplane error1.png
imageplane error1.png (85.68 KiB) Viewed 760 times
ReportView Access Violation, The icon switch to show image but nothing shown.

imagePlane error2.png
imagePlane error2.png (88.42 KiB) Viewed 760 times
ReportView Access Violation, The icon switch to hide.
Last edited by Kunda1 on Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added ticket number to thread title
Geoplace
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Geoplace » Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:17 pm

Update:

I've just tested the bug with Windows Only workflow

1.- Create Planar Image.

2.- The same error acceso violation.

3.- And when trying to save the file the save Access Violation Error. So I can't save the file.
ImagePlane AccessViolation.PNG
ImagePlane AccessViolation.PNG (151.54 KiB) Viewed 755 times
OS: Windows 8.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16093 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 690774c0effe4fd7b8d2b5e2fb2b8c8d145e21ce
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Spanish/Mexico (es_MX)

The version 0.17 works just fine.

OS: Windows 8.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13541 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 9948ee4f1570df9216862a79705afb367b2c6ffb
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: Spanish/Mexico (es_MX)
Syres
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Syres » Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:01 pm

This maybe of use : https://forum.freecadweb.org/memberlist ... le&u=12184

Even if your graphics card isn't the same type, the driver for your particular card would be the area I would recommend investigating and it's not always the latest version that gives the best result. I recently had to back out a NVidia upgrade due a side effect that meant I had to DR my box from January.
Geoplace
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Geoplace » Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:02 pm

Syres wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:01 pm
This maybe of use : https://forum.freecadweb.org/memberlist ... le&u=12184

Even if your graphics card isn't the same type, the driver for your particular card would be the area I would recommend investigating and it's not always the latest version that gives the best result. I recently had to back out a NVidia upgrade due a side effect that meant I had to DR my box from January.
The laptop I use has Intel integrated graphics, there has not been a recent upgrade the graphics driver.

This function works fine in the released v0.17 but no more in the v0.18 release candidate.

I'll will keep an eye to a newer or more stable 0.18 release to see if this bug changes.
Syres
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Syres » Tue Mar 26, 2019 9:05 pm

Geoplace wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:02 pm
The laptop I use has Intel integrated graphics, there has not been a recent upgrade the graphics driver.

This function works fine in the released v0.17 but no more in the v0.18 release candidate.

I'll will keep an eye to a newer or more stable 0.18 release to see if this bug changes.
There was another report that @GeneFC managed to find a driver to make Intel Graphics work with 0.18 https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 0#p280582 and yes I'm not surprised that it's fine in 0.17 but fails in 0.18 RC.
Geoplace
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Geoplace » Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:13 pm

Hi Syres

I downgraded fromo Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 Version: 21.20.0016.4821
to Version: 21.20.0016.4574

But no good luck. The same error is thrown.

Unhandled Base::Exception caught in GUIApplication::notify.
The error message is: Access violation


I would try to find other driver's version to see if pure driver error o also FreeCAD componentes.

Stay tune.
Geoplace
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:49 pm

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Geoplace » Tue Apr 02, 2019 3:11 pm

Geoplace wrote:
Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:13 pm
Hi Syres

I downgraded fromo Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 Version: 21.20.0016.4821
to Version: 21.20.0016.4574
Today I downgraded to version: 21.20.0016.4354
From year 2016 I think I there's no older driver. There's the same error:

Unhandled Base::Exception caught in GUIApplication::notify.
The error message is: Access violation

So, What else can we do to iron out this bug??
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5818
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 2:51 pm

Linking back to issue #3915 from this thread
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5818
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:10 pm

@chrisb shall we add this to 'Known Issues' ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
chrisb
Posts: 19044
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: v0.18 Planar Image crossplatform show/hide bug

Postby chrisb » Fri Apr 26, 2019 4:05 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:10 pm
Too much praise, but thank you.

@chrisb shall we add this to 'Known Issues' ?
Usually I wait until it happens a second time. In the other cases driver up- or downgrades helped. Should I place just a link in the drivers section?