Export to dxf

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
foxint

Export to dxf

Post by foxint »

Guys - I am so sorry to ask. But I have tried to read and watch videos and they all seem to miss ALL the steps. I have tried version 0.16, 0.17 and now on 0.18 and I have NEVER been able to export a 2D drawing to dxf.

I am a novice and on win 10. I have drawn a 2D instrument panel 2U 19: rack. I cannot find STEP-by-STEP instructions with pictures anywhere....

I know you are all experts. All I want to do is make some panels for my rack and export to dxf so the shop can cut the metal.

I am worn down by this and I am going to the bottle as there are no simple answers for simple questions like how do I....export to dxf.

Again I apologise, my skill level is only that of drawing 2 D panels. But it is a start.

Any help would be most welcomed.

depressed and disheartened
kisolre
Veteran

Re: Export to dxf

Post by kisolre »

You do not supply your file, you dond show what is not working, are you encountering any errors, expected result against achieved outcome. Have you searched the forum? Top right with DuckDuckGo because most ofthe terms could be ignored as to common.
Here are some threads:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=17896
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=16487
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=5081
foxint

Post by foxint »

Sir - thank you.

It still does not work. Yes I have searched the form and my terms were ignored. What is DuckDuckGO

I get: Export of this object type if not supported by Drawing module

Also I get:

In tech Draw - the dxf button is greyed out.

I think I needstep-by-step instructions with pictures. But these do not exist.
kisolre
Veteran

Post by kisolre »