STL to STEP Lossless

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
adilgamedev
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:55 am

Re: STL to STEP Lossless

Postby adilgamedev » Mon May 06, 2019 12:04 am

wmayer wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 9:36 am

All what is needed to make the mesh 3d printable is that it is a solid.
Solid means that the mesh is watertight, i.e. it mustn't contain any triangles with an edge that has no adjacent triangle (boundary edges). Or in other words it mustn't contain any holes.

If your client insists on getting a STEP file then you should ask him why. The reason therefore cannot be that the object must be 3d printable.
Image

I got this result when I tried to analyze an STP file I imported, everything is greyed out, and the model has a blue lining compared to when I once imported an OBJ in the past.

I know there aren't any holes due to using 3Ds Max to check manually and not finding holes.

In the end all I got was no holes, and "mesh" stp, which shouldn't be possible.
mrdic
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 4:25 am

Re: STL to STEP Lossless

Postby mrdic » Mon May 06, 2019 1:03 am

The boundary surfaces of STEP solids can be composed of polygonal planar facets, that's not impossible. Enclosing a volume is what determines a CAD solid, not the types of surfaces that enclose it.
adilgamedev
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:55 am

Re: STL to STEP Lossless

Postby adilgamedev » Mon May 06, 2019 3:45 am

Looks like I'll be doing what the previous comments said, ask the client why he specifically wants STP files if it's for 3D printing.