Why is my drawing not on screen and the KISS one is

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
foxint

Why is my drawing not on screen and the KISS one is

Post by foxint »

Hi Guys,

I am a novice and have had some help on another topic. The really kind guy reworked my file and it looks great.

But when I open (File/Open) my file I see nothing and when I open the fixed file I see the drawing.

I have obviously done something. This happens all the time for me I have to go searching on the screen for the drawing. I can only find it when I go to the "edit the selected sketch". Yes every singe time with every single file I have created

All I have done for both files is File/Open......

I have no idea????
Attachments
Capture-2019-04-16-CannotFindDrawing-02.JPG
Capture-2019-04-16-CannotFindDrawing-02.JPG (110.42 KiB) Viewed 894 times
Capture-2019-04-16-CannotFindDrawing-01.JPG
Capture-2019-04-16-CannotFindDrawing-01.JPG (100.17 KiB) Viewed 894 times
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Why is my drawing not on screen and the KISS one is

Post by chrisb »

There are (at least) two possibilities to have an object out of sight:
1.) It is invisible, and from what I see in your screenshots this might well be the case. Visibility is toggled by selecting the object in the tree and hitting the space bar.
2.) It can be visible but is out of sight. Use the Fit-all icon to show it. Its the first to the left in your lower toolbar.

Furthermore you should follow the IMPORTANT link above and learn how to add your FreeCAD info.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
foxint

Post by foxint »

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16093 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18