Chamfer edges deletes my objects (newbie)

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
tzulah

Chamfer edges deletes my objects (newbie)

Post by tzulah »

I am brand new to FreeCAD and relatively new to modeling in general.

I am trying to make a set of stamps, each with a unique shape on it. I have figured out how to import my svg files into FreeCAD, how to extrude them, and how to cut the shape out of a flat cylindrical disc.

What I can't figure out now is how to bevel the edges of the shape. This is a necessary step for the stamp to work - I have tried with vertical edges and it doesn't work. They need to be angled. When I select the face I want to chamfer and apply a length, the whole object I'm working on disappears. I have successfully chamfered the edges of a simple ring, but when I try any of my imported svg shapes it fails in this way. I have done "Check Geometry" on all my things in the Tree View, and no problems have been reported. I am guessing this is due to some kind of problem in the way my shapes are built together?

I've attached a screenshot of a simple test shape. All my real shapes are more complex than this one, and many (if not all) of them have multiple sections and cutouts (compound paths).

I have searched the internet for hours for help and tutorials on this, and while I have made a few minor steps forward, mostly I am just totally stuck.
Can anybody point me in the right direction? I feel like there is a simple solution here, but I don't yet know enough vocabulary to even know where to look for further help.

Thanks so much!!
Attachments
freecad_heart_screenshot3.JPG
freecad_heart_screenshot3.JPG (120.49 KiB) Viewed 1292 times
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Chamfer edges deletes my objects (newbie)

Post by chrisb »

Welcome to the forum.