Part placement

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
mru
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 5:55 pm

Part placement

Postby mru » Fri May 17, 2019 6:18 pm

Hello
What is "correct" way to place two pads on each other, so height could be changed dynamically?

Changing spredsheet.bottom_height breaks part.
Attachments
part.png
part.png (129.42 KiB) Viewed 80 times
truba.fcstd
(58.29 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
chrisb
Posts: 15590
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Part placement

Postby chrisb » Fri May 17, 2019 9:07 pm

Hi mru, welcome. You have two possibilities to place the second solid:
- you can set the z-Placement of the second body to the height of the first pad
- you can set the z-AttachmentOffset of the sketch in the second body to the height of the first pad

But there is more to say: You used the tube connection tool, but there is nothing hollow in your objects. So you better use the boolean Fuse.

But you can do even better: By fusing you say that this should be a single solid. So why not create it as such in just one body? If you go that way, then the offset has to be applied to the AttachmentOffset of the second sketch, of course.
mru
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: Part placement

Postby mru » Sat May 18, 2019 7:15 am

It worked
1. Disabled Pad setting - symmetric to plane
2. Added z placements of second body from spreadsheet
3. Used Part - Boolean operation
Thanks