[Solved] Fillet geometry error

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
berka
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:08 pm

[Solved] Fillet geometry error

Postby berka » Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:48 am

I think I'm seeing some geometry "improvisation' by the PartDesign fillet tool. I was able to replicate it in a simple model. (Attached.)
Has anyone else noticed this? Is this a bug to report or is there another explanation?
(All pictures are orthographic).

Overview:
Object Overview.png
Object Overview.png (51.1 KiB) Viewed 254 times
Right View Before Fillet:
Before Fillet Right.png
Before Fillet Right.png (8.1 KiB) Viewed 254 times
Right View After Fillet:
After Fillet Right.png
After Fillet Right.png (9.48 KiB) Viewed 254 times
OS: macOS 10.14
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16117 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.2)
Hash: dbb4cc6415bac848a294f03b80f65e888d531742
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Attachments
After Fillet Top.png
After Fillet Top.png (33.33 KiB) Viewed 254 times
filletbug.FCStd
Model replicating issue.
(76.88 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
Last edited by berka on Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
openBrain
Posts: 4426
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Fillet geometry error

Postby openBrain » Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:02 pm

This is a display artefact, mainly due to deflection setting.
You can change it at body level (view tab of the property editor) - set it to eg. 1° - then force the whole document to recompute by right-clicking on "filletbug" -> "Mark to recompute" -> F5 key. ;)
dev.png
dev.png (28.37 KiB) Viewed 248 times
berka
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:08 pm

Re: Fillet geometry error

Postby berka » Tue Jun 04, 2019 3:30 pm

Thank you for that explanation. I suspected display-only artifact, but I was thrown off that it looked the same every way I looked.
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Fillet geometry error

Postby GlouGlou » Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:13 pm

In your file datumplane is not attached, it's not tangent. That gives an error.
Attachments
aa.FCStd
(68.78 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
berka
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:08 pm

Re: Fillet geometry error

Postby berka » Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:50 am

GlouGlou wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:13 pm
In your file datumplane is not attached, it's not tangent. That gives an error.
Thanks for taking a look. I intentionally put the datum plane to be slightly below the top of the object. (Z=14.9mm; object has 15mm radius.) That allowed me to show the portion sticking above the plane easily in pictures.
berka
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:08 pm

Re: Fillet geometry error

Postby berka » Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:11 am

openBrain wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:02 pm
This is a display artefact, mainly due to deflection setting.
You can change it at body level (view tab of the property editor)
Tried this morning. This is definitely it. Both Angular deflection and deflection improve the view. More importantly, knowing it's a view artifactly only, and knowing how to affect it are key. It allows me to ignore it or temporarily change it to keep computation faster.
openBrain
Posts: 4426
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: [Solved] Fillet geometry error

Postby openBrain » Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:51 pm

This artifact is highly seeable here also because your model is at a very small size. ;)
Also be aware that this parameters will have direct effect on the result if you export as mesh (typically STL).