exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
mnemocron
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:12 am

exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby mnemocron » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:21 am

I am trying to export a color STEP file from a complex PCB that I imported with StepUp from Kicad.
The PCB alone works, but as soon as I add the traces I cannot export the file anymore in STEP format.
Exporting to .obj works.

I have browsed the Forums but the only thread I found is a similar exception being thrown:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=28411

I am new to FreeCad. So I don't know how to "simplify" or "fix" a model - should that be the source of my error.
Any help on this issue is appreciated.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16117 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: dbb4cc6415bac848a294f03b80f65e888d531742
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
openBrain
Posts: 3089
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby openBrain » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:20 pm

Hi mnemocron, welcome here. Could you please attach your FCStd file ?
Melk
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:01 am

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby Melk » Fri Dec 06, 2019 8:53 am

Hi,

I am experiencing the same problem with two files std when trying to export in step.

These two parts have been completely developped over FreeCAD. You can find them attached below.

Thanx
Attachments
Manchon perce V9.FCStd
(302.05 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Adaptateur Manchon V1.FCStd
(201.53 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
openBrain
Posts: 3089
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby openBrain » Fri Dec 06, 2019 10:40 am

Melk wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 8:53 am
Hi,

I am experiencing the same problem with two files std when trying to export in step.
Hi Melk. Could you add your full FC info ?
I experience no problem here using latest 0.19 to export.
What steps are you doing to export ?
Anyway, you should not use non-ASCII characters in your object names, such as 'ç', 'é', ... ;)
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2773
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby easyw-fc » Fri Dec 06, 2019 10:44 am

openBrain wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 10:40 am
Hi Melk. Could you add your full FC info ?
I experience no problem here using latest 0.19 to export.
What steps are you doing to export ?
Anyway, you should not use non-ASCII characters in your object names, such as 'ç', 'é', ... ;)
@openBrain, could you please post your STEP export preferences?
I'm having this issue also on latest FC 0.19 (but I'm using legacy exporter)

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18811 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: b809867021deb37be1039dab37b9fe1cafab254e
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
and my FC exporting preferences:
-
fc-prefs.png
fc-prefs.png (67.95 KiB) Viewed 178 times
openBrain
Posts: 3089
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby openBrain » Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:05 am

Export_pref.png
Export_pref.png (119.51 KiB) Viewed 170 times
Here it is :
Melk
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:01 am

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby Melk » Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:14 am

openBrain wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 10:40 am
Melk wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 8:53 am
Hi,

I am experiencing the same problem with two files std when trying to export in step.
Hi Melk. Could you add your full FC info ?
I experience no problem here using latest 0.19 to export.
What steps are you doing to export ?
Anyway, you should not use non-ASCII characters in your object names, such as 'ç', 'é', ... ;)
Hi and thank you for your response.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13541 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 9948ee4f1570df9216862a79705afb367b2c6ffb
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)

The same issue happens with 0.18 version
Melk
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:01 am

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby Melk » Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:28 am

openBrain wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:05 am
Export_pref.pngHere it is :
Hi again,

Non-ASCII characters are not well transcripted but this is not the reason of the failure since others non-ASCII characters named files are well exported.

Parameters of export configuration are the same as yours. Do you really think this issue is related to the FreeCAD version ? I think this may be related to the kind of object.

I'm going on to try to solve it
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2773
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby easyw-fc » Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:21 pm

Melk wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:28 am
Do you really think this issue is related to the FreeCAD version ? I think this may be related to the kind of object.
The issue is on legacy exporter, with your kind of object.
FC0.19 has improved the exporter, but you need to remove the checkbox on legacy exporter.
Anyway this should be reported as an issue on STEP exporter (legacy) present also on FC0.19
openBrain
Posts: 3089
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: exporting parts in step : C++ exception thrown (invalid vector subscript)

Postby openBrain » Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:29 pm

Melk wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 11:28 am
Parameters of export configuration are the same as yours. Do you really think this issue is related to the FreeCAD version ? I think this may be related to the kind of object.

I'm going on to try to solve it
I don't know exactly what is messing up the export. What I know is that it already has been solved as latest 0.19 version works well. ;)
Why not trying it ?