tool parameters in Path WB

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
bzb.dev001
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 3:08 am

tool parameters in Path WB

Postby bzb.dev001 » Tue Jun 18, 2019 2:17 pm

In Path Workbench. When create a new tool using Tool Manager, modifying parameter "Length Offset" causes the cursor to be placed at end of input box for each key pressed.

Currently using...
OS: Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS (LXDE/Lubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16966 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: fbafd698aefeae2dbb5a711647346b9cac7794e9
Python version: 3.7.1
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)
bzb.dev001
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 3:08 am

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby bzb.dev001 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:27 am

I noticed that when creating a new tool, if I were to modify "Length Offset" parameter first, values entered for other parameter fields would not be accepted.
bzb.dev001
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 3:08 am

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby bzb.dev001 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:35 am

Last edited by bzb.dev001 on Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5529
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:02 pm

why 2 separate thread for one ticket ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
bzb.dev001
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 3:08 am

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby bzb.dev001 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:03 pm

I was reporting another issue and didn't know that they were related. I can't remove the other thread. Please ignore it then.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5529
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:10 pm

bzb.dev001 wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:03 pm
I was reporting another issue and didn't know that they were related. I can't remove the other thread. Please ignore it then.
No worries, glad you're posting. It's just easier to track if each issue gets their own ticket. But before you open a ticket for the new issue..lets get more feedback from the devs.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
chrisb
Posts: 18165
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby chrisb » Wed Jun 19, 2019 10:04 pm

The usual way is to discuss the issues here in the forum before creating a ticket.

Here I can reproduce the jumping cursor, but not the other issue where you edit length offset first and other changes are not accepted.

This is what I did:

- Click "New tool in Tool library
- change Length offset to 13 (had to reposition the cursor)
- set Material to HighSpeedSteel
- set Type to Drill
- change name to "6mm Drill"
- change D to 6mm
- H to 3mm
- alpha to 130°
- OK

All the values occur now in the library.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16933 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 4494d384a6b7e183dd4ae12baadfcf6972039c45
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)
bzb.dev001
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 3:08 am

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby bzb.dev001 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:05 pm

These are the steps used to reproduce the issue.

-delete FreeCAD config directories. (on my Ubuntu system)
$ rm -f ~/.config/FreeCAD
$ rm -f ~/.FreeCAD

-run FreeCAD
-create new document
-select Path WB
-click on 'Tool Manager' button.
-click 'New Tool' button
-enter following data for new tool according to listed order
name=tool1
type=EndMill
material=Carbide
length offset=25.40
D=6.35
click 'ok' button.

-entry looks good at this point

-click 'New Tool' button
-enter following data for new tool according to listed order
name=tool2
type=CenterDrill
Material=HighSpeedSteel
LengthOffset=12.70
Diameter=3.18
Point/Tip Angle=135
click 'ok' button

-issue:Notice that the Diameter value for tool2 is 0 when it should be 3.18.
-issue:Notice that re-entering the dialog to modify tool2 to change 'Diameter' has no effect. it remains 0.
bzb.dev001
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 3:08 am

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby bzb.dev001 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:09 pm

One addition issue I noticed when creating a new tool. If you enter the 'create new tool' dialog, the default value for type=EndMill. If EndMill is what you want and you fill in the rest of the tool parameters and click 'ok'. You'll notice that the listing for this entry has Tool Type=Undefined
chrisb
Posts: 18165
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: tool parameters in Path WB

Postby chrisb » Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:13 am

bzb.dev001 wrote:
Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:05 pm
-click 'New Tool' button
-enter following data for new tool according to listed order
name=tool2
type=CenterDrill
Material=HighSpeedSteel
LengthOffset=12.70
Diameter=3.18
Point/Tip Angle=135
click 'ok' button

-issue:Notice that the Diameter value for tool2 is 0 when it should be 3.18.
-issue:Notice that re-entering the dialog to modify tool2 to change 'Diameter' has no effect. it remains 0.
Confirmed.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.16933 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 4494d384a6b7e183dd4ae12baadfcf6972039c45
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)