FREECAD step export

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
grijo
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:05 am

FREECAD step export

Postby grijo » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:15 am

SUP_FREECAD.zip
(659.56 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Hello,

i use FREECAD to create and edit 3D models of electronic components.
When i open a 3D step model of a component supplier (to move the component origin) and export it from FREECAD the file size increase a lot, sometimes it's up to 5 times larger.

In the attached example the FREECAD step file is three times larger.

My workaround is to open the exported step file in an 3D viewer ( i use Kistler 3DViewStation ) and save it.
Then the file size is smaller.

My question:
How can i export in FREECAD a step file with an adaquate file size. ( comparable to the original file size. )

Joachim
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2775
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: FREECAD step export

Postby easyw-fc » Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:08 am

grijo wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:15 am
i use FREECAD to create and edit 3D models of electronic components.
When i open a 3D step model of a component supplier (to move the component origin) and export it from FREECAD the file size increase a lot, sometimes it's up to 5 times larger.
please have a look at here:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 08#p320208
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 85#p142700
chrisb
Posts: 21410
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FREECAD step export

Postby chrisb » Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:16 am

vejmarie wrote:ping
grijo
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:05 am

Re: FREECAD step export

Postby grijo » Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:18 pm

easyw-fc wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 11:08 am
grijo wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:15 am
i use FREECAD to create and edit 3D models of electronic components.
When i open a 3D step model of a component supplier (to move the component origin) and export it from FREECAD the file size increase a lot, sometimes it's up to 5 times larger.
please have a look at here:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 08#p320208
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 85#p142700
I disabled parametric curves in step output.
Now the file size is nearly the same the original step file has.

Thx.
User avatar
vejmarie
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:52 pm
Location: Somewhere between France, USA and Taiwan
Contact:

Re: FREECAD step export

Postby vejmarie » Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:13 pm

sorry I was offline for a time. Good to see that you fixed your issue.