Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Postby hardeeprai » Sun May 23, 2010 2:54 pm

I tried FreeCAD on Ubuntu Lucid. On finding problem, FAQ
FreeCAD 0.9 doesn't run on Ubuntu Lucid Lynx (10.04)

There seems to be a problem with the 0.9 package found in Ubuntu Lucid Lynx repository. Please try installing the new 0.10 version from FreeCAD 0.9 doesn't run on Ubuntu Lucid Lynx (10.04)
helped me. But found that on Ubuntu "Rubber band" is now showing, Which I could see on MS Vista and XP. What could be possible solution.

Dimension is not working on any OS. Is this feature not available yet?

--
H.S.Rai
--
H.S.Rai
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

Re: Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Postby hardeeprai » Sun May 23, 2010 5:51 pm

See if following information can give you some clue:
freecad
FreeCAD 0.10, Libs: 0.10R3149
<snip>
do_wait: drmWaitVBlank returned -1, IRQs don't seem to be working correctly.
Try adjusting the vblank_mode configuration parameter.
[line draw command]
(position = Vector (0, 0, 0))
Plane selected.
Pick first point:
TypeError: in method 'delete_SoBase', argument 1 of type 'SoBase *'
Pick next point:
(position = Vector (0, 0, 0))
[line drawn, but without any rubber band]
[Dimension command]
Plane selected.
Pick first point:
ViewProviderPythonFeature::attach: Cannot convert into requested type
--
H.S.Rai
--
H.S.Rai
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15471
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Postby wmayer » Sun May 23, 2010 11:47 pm

The Dimension command is part of the Draft module which is completely written in Python. To access some Inventor stuff from within Python we use the package python-pivy. And exactly this package is the problem. While on Debian testing there is no problem at all you always get some strange errors on Ubuntu.

I think we should search for a replacement for the pivy package since the original sources are not longer maintained and the older the sources the more problems we have with it.
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

Re: Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Postby hardeeprai » Mon May 24, 2010 5:15 am

But I found Dimension is not working on MS windows XP and Vista, and issue is not only Ubuntu. Although Rubber Band is the issue with Ubuntu only. Is there any way out / solution?

--
H.S.Rai
--
H.S.Rai
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15471
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Postby wmayer » Mon May 24, 2010 8:36 am

Yes, it seems that for the Dimension tool there is also another bug. I have to check by what is that caused. But for the rubberband it is as I said. It's the broken python-pivy package on Ubuntu.

No, there is nothing what you can do. We have to implement a replacement for the pivy stuff we're using.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11686
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Postby yorik » Mon May 24, 2010 8:25 pm

Yes I also think it's time to think about removing pivy...
I'll do a list of every pivy thing I used in the Draft module, and we can see what we can do. Maybe it's not too much.
About the rubberband, it's strange, as far as I see it works fine... Are the other rubberbands working? (when drawing a line, a rectanlge, etc)

EDIT: Sorry I didn't read the thread correctly. That dimension of yours seems to have a problem with the working plane... Can you try this?
- try drawing a dimension on a blank, new drawing
- try drawing a dimension after setting the working plane to a standard plane (XY for example)
- try drawing a dimension after setting the working plane to an existing face
And tell me which works & which fails?
User avatar
hardeeprai
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 2:41 pm
Location: Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Contact:

Re: Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Postby hardeeprai » Tue May 25, 2010 5:57 pm

yorikvanhavre wrote: About the rubberband, it's strange, as far as I see it works fine... Are the other rubberbands working? (when drawing a line, a rectanlge, etc)
On Ubuntu, RubberBand does not work for anything including line, rectangle drawing. On MS XP it works fine. Dimension works on MS XP.
yorikvanhavre wrote: EDIT: Sorry I didn't read the thread correctly. That dimension of yours seems to have a problem with the working plane... Can you try this?
- try drawing a dimension on a blank, new drawing
- try drawing a dimension after setting the working plane to a standard plane (XY for example)
- try drawing a dimension after setting the working plane to an existing face
And tell me which works & which fails?
Dimensioning not working on Ubuntu.

--
H.S.Rai
--
H.S.Rai
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11686
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Rubber band and Dimension issues on Ubuntu

Postby yorik » Tue May 25, 2010 6:51 pm

Hm yes, then it is definitely a pivy problem. The pivy package bundled with ubuntu doesn't work...
I think we'll really need to remove that pivy dependency...
In the meantime maybe try to file a bug report against the ubuntu package, but I'm not sure they'll know what to do...