Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
chrisb
Posts: 19460
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby chrisb » Thu Jul 18, 2019 11:16 am

I still try to Part->Explode the compound, this took already half an hour and is still running. You may try in parallel, perhaps your machine/OS will handle it better. The result should be two solids - of which at least one will show the errors from above; most probably they are caused by the fillets.
openBrain
Posts: 2323
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby openBrain » Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:04 pm

ConnorMoran wrote:
Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:04 am
I think I'll have to just overhaul the design. It's a pretty stupid limitation though. The PartDesign should have a variable radii option.
Not sure variable radii changes something. Actually the fact is that one of the face disappeared along the edge (where cylinder & square are tangent). Thus no valid radii value can match such an equation...
chrisb
Posts: 19460
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby chrisb » Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:10 pm

chrisb wrote:
Thu Jul 18, 2019 11:16 am
I still try to Part->Explode the compound
Killed the process; my colleages complained about the fan spinning with 100%.
kisolre
Posts: 1360
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby kisolre » Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:40 pm

chrisb wrote:
Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:10 pm
Killed the process; my colleages complained about the fan spinning with 100%.
You need a new fan :) Have you forgotten "Enable STEP Compound merge"? STEP imports as wto solids here without problems. And works as body basefeature if added geometry does not touch the broken one.
.
CPU Fan imported.JPG
CPU Fan imported.JPG (73.61 KiB) Viewed 123 times
.
File gets too big and no point to include it.
Here is a realisation of my idea in previous post. All in PD. I reconstrained some of the sketches.
.
Computer Fan_kiss.JPG
Computer Fan_kiss.JPG (96.64 KiB) Viewed 123 times
Attachments
Computer Fan_kiss.FCStd
(886.79 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
ConnorMoran
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 11:23 am

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby ConnorMoran » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:25 pm

Christ.

Unchecking STEP compound merge did it. It did the entire thing I was trying to do, getting the fan out of it.

Damn. Thanks! Even made both things solids.

And seeing how you did it I understand better what you meant now.
I made some changes to the design so I could fillet it. I really appreciate it thanks!
chrisb
Posts: 19460
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby chrisb » Fri Jul 19, 2019 12:13 am

kisolre wrote:
Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:40 pm
You need a new fan
I could use the fan modeled here :geek: .

Have you forgotten "Enable STEP Compound merge"?
It is enabled. I can extract things from the compound using a compound filter
STEP imports as wto solids here without problems.
Can you explode the compound?
TheMarkster
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby TheMarkster » Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:47 am

fan.png
fan.png (243.99 KiB) Viewed 86 times
I wonder if that part was done with a loft.
kisolre
Posts: 1360
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby kisolre » Fri Jul 19, 2019 6:09 am

chrisb wrote:
Fri Jul 19, 2019 12:13 am
It is enabled
It should not be. Then compound is imported as separate solids and there is no need to explode it.
chrisb
Posts: 19460
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Fillet Issues - Links go out of allowed scope

Postby chrisb » Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:18 am

I succeeded filleting after introducing ever so tiny straight edges in the circle. I could not get it working with PartDesign fillet, I had to use Part fillets. If you want to look at the sketch, you have to change DisplayModeBody from Tip to Through in the view properties.
Bildschirmfoto 2019-07-20 um 10.13.19.png
Bildschirmfoto 2019-07-20 um 10.13.19.png (34.7 KiB) Viewed 57 times
Attachments
FanExample_cb.FCStd
(43.06 KiB) Downloaded 1 time