TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
71GA
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:03 pm

TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby 71GA » Sat Jul 27, 2019 10:25 pm

I've finished working on an assembly, and am trying to create 2D drawings using TechDraw workbench. The first drawing was suppose to show the reader all of the components of an assembly. So how could I label all the components in an assembly in a way shown in a 2D attached drawing?
Attachments
sestav.jpg
sestav.jpg (36.51 KiB) Viewed 670 times
chrisb
Posts: 32090
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby chrisb » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:01 pm

You can include a spreadsheet. The references in the drawing can be made using balloons. Here is an example with self made balloons, as the official ones were not available then.
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2019-07-28 um 00.59.38.png
Bildschirmfoto 2019-07-28 um 00.59.38.png (63.76 KiB) Viewed 663 times
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
71GA
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby 71GA » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:09 pm

But there is a problem. I already have a ISO compatible spreadsheet in my TechDraw template and I would love to do this withouth inserting another spreadsheet... I need to use mine which is formatted the way I need it to be.
Attachments
A3 (L) -- freesans (italic) -- vpetje (da) -- logotip (ne) -- sestavna risba (37).png
A3 (L) -- freesans (italic) -- vpetje (da) -- logotip (ne) -- sestavna risba (37).png (66.06 KiB) Viewed 654 times
Last edited by 71GA on Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:26 pm, edited 3 times in total.
chrisb
Posts: 32090
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby chrisb » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:24 pm

Perhaps someone is able to help if you show what you really want.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
71GA
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby 71GA » Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:28 pm

I edited my reply and added image of a TechDraw template which already has a large spreadsheet (Freecad editable). So I only need to mark parts with a numbers, so I can later manually write them down in my spreadsheet which is a part of template as can be seen from the attachment.
chrisb
Posts: 32090
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby chrisb » Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:19 am

Why don't you use balloons?
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
71GA
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby 71GA » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:05 am

As it turns out baloons are only available on Freecad 0.19 and I am on Freecad 0.18 which is part of a Debian (Freecad doesn't provide .deb file of the latest release). Any other Idea? Could I somehow use a radius dimension with an "arbitrary" value like in the attached image (I also manualy inserted the value in my template spreadsheet)? This only works for a radius and not for lines...
Attachments
Screenshot from 2019-07-28 09-01-21.png
Screenshot from 2019-07-28 09-01-21.png (55.44 KiB) Viewed 632 times
chrisb
Posts: 32090
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby chrisb » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:12 am

You could do it the same ways I did: Add special symbols made in inkscape. I can provide my file in case you are interested. But I have to add that it is no fun at all and rather inflexible.
You should be able to run the Appimage instead, which includes these super duper balloons.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
71GA
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:03 pm

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby 71GA » Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:16 am

I stick to the distro packages. I avoid AppImages and Flatpaks which bring a lot of security issues. No baloons for me. I'll probably insert a custom symbols like sugested which is a big drawback as I have waited years (!) for Debian 10 which ships Freecad 0.18 with TechDraw, which I see now is a bit incomplete. So what? I wait another 5 years for Debian 11... Maybee I am just a bit too stubborn...
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 3076
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: TechDraw workbench - labeling parts of an assembly

Postby papyblaise » Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:56 am

Hello
Don't panic guy :!: 2 options
-1st : waited 5 years for Debian10 :lol:
-2cd : bach for past and use V16 draw-dimensioning whiyh Welder symbol addon.
I don't know why the conceptor of the new vertion from Fc lost the olds tools whithout new to replace
Attachments
moyeu.FCStd
(88.61 KiB) Downloaded 17 times