[0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
isleshocky77
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:01 am

[0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby isleshocky77 » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:04 am

Trying to "Save Picture" of my drawings in any format produces only a pure black image. It appears there was an older bug a couple of years ago related to this which was solved and has been marked as closed. I also see that there are some forum posts which refer to this type of behavior but none have a solution. Is there a bug ticket that one could watch and/or add information to regarding this bug?

OS: Linux Mint 19.1
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.3.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
User avatar
PrzemoF
Posts: 2627
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby PrzemoF » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:50 am

Welcome to the forum!

If it's exactly the same problem it might be worth to reopen the bug, but I hope someone will have a solution for you here.

Reference thread: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=35923
mario52
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby mario52 » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:49 am

hi

for the moment use the 0.17 version or other idea Macro_Snip

(other bug post Save image for printing)

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
openBrain
Posts: 1846
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby openBrain » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:14 am

There are known issues using Qt5 with Intel GFX chips. It's that the case for you?
mario52
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby mario52 » Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:00 pm

hi

this ?

Intel(R) HD Graphics
\_SB.PCI0.GFX0
version pilote 10.18.10.4358

\Driver\igfx
\Driver\ACPI
\Driver\pci

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9558
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby jmaustpc » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:05 am

The point is that it is not a bug in FreeCAD, it's a combination of GPU driver and QT, earlier versions of FreeCAD were of course compiled with earlier versions of QT.

In most cases, as far as I know, you can simply use you OS's screen capture application. In KDE you get a really good simple and quick to use screen capture application.
openBrain
Posts: 1846
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby openBrain » Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:45 am

jmaustpc wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:05 am
In KDE you get a really good simple and quick to use screen capture application.
True, even if I like to replace it with Flameshot to get some live editing features. ;)
mario52
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby mario52 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:16 pm

hi

not good for my macro (blocked on 0.17 !)

we have everything in FreeCAD why "faire la chèvre de monsieur Segain"

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
seccolor
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:19 pm

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby seccolor » Fri Sep 06, 2019 4:06 pm

Hi everybody,
upgrading from FreeCAD 0.17 to 0.18 I have stumbled into a similar "Save Picture issue", obtaining mingled pictures instead of the perfect and quick snapshots I was used to get.

After duckducking inside the forum, I found some posts like:
- [Solved] Can't Save Picture 0.18
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=31801
- Save Image Fails (post by wmayer)
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 570#p98270
(I've tried the settings here reported by wmayer, but I had no effect.)

This post seems to be the more recent and active on the issue, so I'd like to share the results of some tests I've performed using different AppImages (Linux Mint 19.2 64bit Mate edition).
The results are the following:

Save_Picture WORKS
(and mario52's wonderful FCCamera macro: thank you Mario!)
ver. 0.17 FreeCAD_0.17-13522.glibc2.17-x86_64.AppImage

Save_Picture DOES NOT WORK
(nor FCCamera, as Mario already pointed out ...)
ver. 0.18.2 FreeCAD_0.18-16117-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
ver. 0.18.3 FreeCAD_0.18-16131-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
ver. 0.18.3 package 2:0.18.3+dfsg1~201907190308~ubuntu18.04.1 (Ubuntu repository)
ver. 0.19pre FreeCAD_0.19-17798-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
ver. 0.19pre FreeCAD_0.19-18009-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage

Switching FreeCAD versions I've not changed anything else in my system. See About_FreeCAD reports at the foot of this post.
I hope this can be of some help to those braves "who know" and let all the rest us enjoy this wonderful FreeCAD!
Please, let me know if there is any other test I can perform to give better information.

Ciao,
Lorenzo

rel. 0.17
OS: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13522 (Git) AppImage
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 3bb5ff4e70c0c526f2d9dd69b1004155b2f527f2
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)

rel. 0.18.2
OS: Linux Mint 19.2
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16117 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.2)
Hash: dbb4cc6415bac848a294f03b80f65e888d531742
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)

rel. 0.18.3 (AppImage)
OS: Linux Mint 19.2
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.3)
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)

rel. 0.18.3 (Ubuntu repository)
OS: Linux Mint 19.2
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.3.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)

rel. 0.19pre 17798
OS: Linux Mint 19.2 (MATE/mate)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.17798 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7e60631239109c632a8f6cca83f6e7e5502e43a1
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)

rel. 0.19pre 18009
OS: Linux Mint 19.2 (MATE/mate)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18009 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 0641ca0d1e020d18f23d2adb49959195266f04f7
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Italian/Italy (it_IT)
openBrain
Posts: 1846
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: [0.18.3 | Linux] Save Picture.. creates a black square

Postby openBrain » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:43 am

seccolor wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 4:06 pm
Hi everybody,
upgrading from FreeCAD 0.17 to 0.18 I have stumbled into a similar "Save Picture issue", obtaining mingled pictures instead of the perfect and quick snapshots I was used to get.
What is your GFX chip set?