BUG in spreadsheet

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dino
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

BUG in spreadsheet

Postby dino » Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:47 am

In versions 0.18.16131 (Git), 0.19.17651 (Git), 0.19.18284 (Git) and 0.19.18293 (Git) I have found a BUG:
- open a Spreadsheet in a new document
- type 1000 in A1
- type PIPPO in A2
- type 123.321 in A3
- type A3 in B1
- type A2 in B2
- type A1 in B3
- type C1 in C1
- type C2 in C2
- type C3 in C3
- type Why in C1
- type C1 in C1
The problem is that the string inserted is interpreted as a command also if inserted without =


OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
chrisb
Posts: 30822
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby chrisb » Fri Sep 27, 2019 11:20 am

Prepend the string with a single quote ' .
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
dino
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby dino » Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:49 pm

It is a workaround to dribble the problem, not the solution (I think) :?
chrisb
Posts: 30822
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby chrisb » Fri Sep 27, 2019 11:22 pm

The spreadsheet tries to be clever, which is in some cases not desired. I am not a big fan of too much cleverness if it starts deciding what I may really want, but here I can well live with it, because there is a possibility to stop the built-in cleverness.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
dino
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby dino » Sat Sep 28, 2019 8:04 pm

It is possible to deactivate this feature? For me it is very bad!
chrisb
Posts: 30822
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby chrisb » Sat Sep 28, 2019 9:35 pm

Is it really very bad to type a single quote?

As far as I know you cannot configure this in the preferences, but you can, of course, change the source code and compile FreeCAD yourself.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
openBrain
Posts: 5209
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby openBrain » Sun Sep 29, 2019 2:49 pm

I'd also prefer that the cell value necessarily starts with '=' to be considered as en expression. ;)
Maybe if it makes sense to the community we can fill a ticket. :)
chrisb
Posts: 30822
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby chrisb » Sun Sep 29, 2019 8:22 pm

I would prefer strict usage of = as well.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Michel59263
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:50 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby Michel59263 » Mon Sep 30, 2019 10:47 am

hello,

I'd also prefer that the cell value necessarily starts with '=' to be considered as en expression.
dino
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Postby dino » Mon Sep 30, 2019 2:38 pm

Considering also that using a script to populate the cells without = in the cell is not replaced the value of the expression I think it is more correct to have to manually enter the character = and not the character '
In any case, I consider it a BUG since entering the coordinates of an empty cell it does not replace the text by adding the character = at the beginning and also it not add ' if I insert a string

Then if you believe it is too complicated I live well anyway ...