BUG in spreadsheet

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dino
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

BUG in spreadsheet

Post by dino »

In versions 0.18.16131 (Git), 0.19.17651 (Git), 0.19.18284 (Git) and 0.19.18293 (Git) I have found a BUG:
- open a Spreadsheet in a new document
- type 1000 in A1
- type PIPPO in A2
- type 123.321 in A3
- type A3 in B1
- type A2 in B2
- type A1 in B3
- type C1 in C1
- type C2 in C2
- type C3 in C3
- type Why in C1
- type C1 in C1
The problem is that the string inserted is interpreted as a command also if inserted without =


OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 40135
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by chrisb »

Prepend the string with a single quote ' .
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
dino
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by dino »

It is a workaround to dribble the problem, not the solution (I think) :?
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 40135
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by chrisb »

The spreadsheet tries to be clever, which is in some cases not desired. I am not a big fan of too much cleverness if it starts deciding what I may really want, but here I can well live with it, because there is a possibility to stop the built-in cleverness.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
dino
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by dino »

It is possible to deactivate this feature? For me it is very bad!
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 40135
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by chrisb »

Is it really very bad to type a single quote?

As far as I know you cannot configure this in the preferences, but you can, of course, change the source code and compile FreeCAD yourself.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 7029
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by openBrain »

I'd also prefer that the cell value necessarily starts with '=' to be considered as en expression. ;)
Maybe if it makes sense to the community we can fill a ticket. :)
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 40135
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by chrisb »

I would prefer strict usage of = as well.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Michel59263
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:50 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by Michel59263 »

hello,

I'd also prefer that the cell value necessarily starts with '=' to be considered as en expression.
dino
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:28 pm

Re: BUG in spreadsheet

Post by dino »

Considering also that using a script to populate the cells without = in the cell is not replaced the value of the expression I think it is more correct to have to manually enter the character = and not the character '
In any case, I consider it a BUG since entering the coordinates of an empty cell it does not replace the text by adding the character = at the beginning and also it not add ' if I insert a string

Then if you believe it is too complicated I live well anyway ...
Post Reply