[Solved] Change hole(s) from top to bottom

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
IngoMeier
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 12:51 pm

[Solved] Change hole(s) from top to bottom

Postby IngoMeier » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:25 pm

Hi,

sorry, but I couldn't find the right solution in the wiki and via the search:
I want to change/move existing holes from top to Botton.

I have an object (the sample shows only one hole) with many threaded holes from top. Now these threaded holes Need
to be moved from top to bottom with thread removed and countersink added.

Shouldn't this work somehow via "map reversed"?

Thank you very much for any hint in advance!


Best regards,
Ingo

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Attachments
Hole_Top_Bottom.FCStd
(13.33 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Last edited by IngoMeier on Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
chrisb
Posts: 24141
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Change hole(s) from top to bottom

Postby chrisb » Mon Sep 30, 2019 9:22 pm

IngoMeier wrote:
Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:25 pm
Shouldn't this work somehow via "map reversed"?
I'm pretty sure there is already a ticket.
freedman
Posts: 1406
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Change hole(s) from top to bottom

Postby freedman » Tue Oct 01, 2019 4:01 am

This issue might be handled best using datum planes. If you place a sketch or multiple sketches on a datum plane then it can be attached to different faces. Datum planes can also be reversed on a face.
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: Change hole(s) from top to bottom

Postby papyblaise » Tue Oct 01, 2019 5:49 am

Hello
Miror works parfectly if you Pad "Midplan" because miror make a mirored figur from the medium plane (here XY)
Attachments
Miror hole.PNG
Miror hole.PNG (37.3 KiB) Viewed 330 times
IngoMeier
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Change hole(s) from top to bottom

Postby IngoMeier » Tue Oct 01, 2019 3:05 pm

Hi Papyblaise,

thank you very much for the hint!

I just changed:
in the Hole:
- Midplane from false to true
- Reversed from false to true
in the Sketch:
- adjust the Z Position of the Attachment

Simple and easy solution!
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: Change hole(s) from top to bottom

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:52 pm

mirroring is not a good construction it is a Laisy use
the midplane workaround is a good solution to get double cones
chrisb
Posts: 24141
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Change hole(s) from top to bottom

Postby chrisb » Thu Oct 03, 2019 8:40 am

pl7i92LCNC wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:52 pm
mirroring is not a good construction it is a Laisy use
Can you please elaborate? The mirror is fully parametric and easy to use. Why not use it?
cron