Total black screen

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Freddie.Disign
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:33 am
Location: Montferland (NL)

Total black screen

Postby Freddie.Disign » Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:09 am

Hello there,
I'm new here, from Holland.
I'll try my best with English, but please have some understanding for my mistakes.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16131 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 3129ae4296e40ed20e7b3d460b86e6969acbe1c3
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Dutch/Netherlands (nl_NL)

I just installed FreeCAD for the first time and had also that 'Total black screen' issue! I know nothing of compiling or Libs! can anyone help me to guide me trough to solve this problem?! I've tried to fix it with Parameter settings, don't know if I've don it right but nothing worked on that.
Syres
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: New libpacks for Windows with Qt5.12, OCC7.3 and Python 3.6 by apeltauer

Postby Syres » Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:30 pm

Freddie.Disign wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:09 am
I just installed FreeCAD for the first time and had also that 'Total black screen' issue! I know nothing of compiling or Libs! can anyone help me to guide me trough to solve this problem?! I've tried to fix it with Parameter settings, don't know if I've don it right but nothing worked on that.
Welcome, your English is better than my non-existent Dutch so no worries. As long as you're happy to use/test a 0.19pre build then you don't need to compile anything just browse to https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre and under Assets the build type to try ends in LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z, the current one being:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... nVS2015.7z
chrisb
Posts: 18926
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Total black screen

Postby chrisb » Tue Oct 01, 2019 8:52 pm

Have a look at the known issues. We had reports that sound very similar.
Freddie.Disign
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:33 am
Location: Montferland (NL)

Re: New libpacks for Windows with Qt5.12, OCC7.3 and Python 3.6 by apeltauer

Postby Freddie.Disign » Sun Oct 06, 2019 5:10 pm

Syres wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:30 pm

under Assets the build type to try ends in LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z, the current one being:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... nVS2015.7z
Well thanks for helping me, the last link was not working and the INFO within it not complete, because off that i have two possibility's.

FreeCAD_0.19.17651_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z
FreeCAD_0.19.18385_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z

Witch one do I've to use?

And yes I've red the 'known issues' and downloaded the ... master.zip, but I've got no clew what to do with it.
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: Total black screen

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Sun Oct 06, 2019 5:34 pm

you shoudt go for a appimage First prior to a ionstall
as there are many changes now in the upcoming version
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Appimage
Syres
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: New libpacks for Windows with Qt5.12, OCC7.3 and Python 3.6 by apeltauer

Postby Syres » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:41 am

Freddie.Disign wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 5:10 pm
Witch one do I've to use?

And yes I've red the 'known issues' and downloaded the ... master.zip, but I've got no clew what to do with it.
Try the now latest one FreeCAD_0.19.18408_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z

I'm struggling to explain the method after downloading the file better than what is on the webpage:

The builds are portable and do not require an installation. Extract the downloaded file using 7zip compression utility and start the application by double clicking on FreeCAD.exe in the bin sub-directory of the extracted package

e.g. Driveletter:\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.18408_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015\FreeCAD_0.19.18408_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015\bin

You do not need the ...master.zip file because you're not compiling anything
Syres
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Total black screen

Postby Syres » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:43 am

pl7i92LCNC wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 5:34 pm
you shoudt go for a appimage First prior to a ionstall
as there are many changes now in the upcoming version
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Appimage
The Op has stated they are using Windows OS therefore the AppImage is not of any use in this situation.
Freddie.Disign
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:33 am
Location: Montferland (NL)

Re: New libpacks for Windows with Qt5.12, OCC7.3 and Python 3.6 by apeltauer

Postby Freddie.Disign » Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:53 pm

Syres wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:30 pm
Freddie.Disign wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 11:09 am
browse to https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre and under Assets the build type to try ends in LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z, the current one being:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... nVS2015.7z
This last link is not working "ERROR" finding it! And link is not readable to get the good info, I've two possibility's?!
see other reply.
Freddie.Disign
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:33 am
Location: Montferland (NL)

Re: Total black screen

Postby Freddie.Disign » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:30 pm

pl7i92LCNC wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 5:34 pm
you shoudt go for a appimage First prior to a ionstall
as there are many changes now in the upcoming version
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Appimage
I'm Windows-10
I don't understand anything of there what to do?!!!

Need someone to guide me!
But that seems to bee a Continental Time problem to communicate frequently.
Clear me up with a Time corridor, please.
kisolre
Posts: 1360
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Total black screen

Postby kisolre » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:21 pm

Freddie.Disign wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 5:10 pm
Well thanks for helping me, the last link was not working and the INFO within it not complete, because off that i have two possibility's.

FreeCAD_0.19.17651_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z
FreeCAD_0.19.18385_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z

Witch one do I've to use?
Freddie.Disign wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:30 pm
I'm Windows-10
I don't understand anything of there what to do?!!!

Need someone to guide me!
The latest one at the time of this post is FreeCAD_0.19.18516_x64_LP_12.1.2_PY3QT5-WinVS2015.7z You need the one that has the same highlighted part in the name. Extract this anywhere (preferably not too deep in the folder tree), go to the "Bin" subfolder and start "FreeCAD.exe"
Report back your result.