How Do I Route an Edge?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
rebeltaz
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:03 pm

How Do I Route an Edge?

Postby rebeltaz » Wed Oct 02, 2019 7:51 am

Is there a way that IO can route sketch002 about the left, front and right side of the Additive Loft? Or is there another way to get the same result?
Attachments
test.FCStd
(12.21 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 1759
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: How Do I Route an Edge?

Postby papyblaise » Wed Oct 02, 2019 8:04 am

Hello
you have to mape the arc on the green face and Pocket , and miror
Attachments
anvil.PNG
anvil.PNG (19.25 KiB) Viewed 254 times
rebeltaz
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:03 pm

Re: How Do I Route an Edge?

Postby rebeltaz » Wed Oct 02, 2019 4:23 pm

papyblaise wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 8:04 am
Hello
you have to mape the arc on the green face and Pocket , and miror
Hi.. Thanks you for replying. What I need, though, is for that profile cut from the front face as well as the two sides. Is that possible?
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: How Do I Route an Edge?

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:13 pm

the front face woudt be a second sketch

mirroring is not the best you can simply draw the 2 shapes on one sketch
rebeltaz
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:03 pm

Re: How Do I Route an Edge?

Postby rebeltaz » Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:17 pm

pl7i92LCNC wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:13 pm
the front face woudt be a second sketch

mirroring is not the best you can simply draw the 2 shapes on one sketch
OK... so there's no simple, one-step process for something like this similar to the [Follow Me] tool in Sketchup? I know people hate that program, but man a lot of things are easier in Sketchup! Thanks.
rebeltaz
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:03 pm

Re: How Do I Route an Edge?

Postby rebeltaz » Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:31 pm

OK... I figured it out. Maybe I shouldn't CAD and drink :)

I created a second sketch as a path around the object and did a [Subtractive Pipe] along the second path. Thanks everyone for your help.
Screenshot from 2019-10-02 12-29-24.png
Screenshot from 2019-10-02 12-29-24.png (160.83 KiB) Viewed 201 times
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: How Do I Route an Edge?

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:59 pm

FreeCAD is Not sketchup it is a real construction OpenSource CAD system