Part->Chamfer does not work

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
koluna
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:36 pm

Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby koluna » Tue Oct 08, 2019 4:40 pm

Hi!

I imported a contour from SVG. Further, I extruded the contour. All is ok.
I want to make a chamfer, but it does not work! Why does it not work?

OS: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16093 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 690774c0effe4fd7b8d2b5e2fb2b8c8d145e21ce
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
Attachments
rat4.FCStd
(23.7 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7074
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby DeepSOIC » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:16 pm

koluna wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 4:40 pm
I want to make a chamfer, but it does not work! Why does it not work?
Because OpenCascade kernel can't do it for some reason. So far, I have not been able to figure out, what exactly is tripping it up, but it happens all over the shape - I had no success chamfering sliced-apart pieces of the shape.
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:33 pm

on the left foot there is a Face missmatch as a non solved svg i guess
dxf export saying non connected there
koluna
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby koluna » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:54 pm

pl7i92LCNC wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:33 pm
on the left foot there is a Face missmatch as a non solved svg i guess
dxf export saying non connected there
Where is it? I do not see this...
koluna
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby koluna » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:56 pm

DeepSOIC wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:16 pm
koluna wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 4:40 pm
I want to make a chamfer, but it does not work! Why does it not work?
Because OpenCascade kernel can't do it for some reason. So far, I have not been able to figure out, what exactly is tripping it up, but it happens all over the shape - I had no success chamfering sliced-apart pieces of the shape.
It is so sad... And what will you advise to me? I need a small chamfer...
User avatar
Hannu
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:12 pm
Location: Strängnäs - 1hr drive west from Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby Hannu » Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:03 pm

Quick recreation using splines, no go.

OS: Ubuntu 16.04.6 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16093 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 690774c0effe4fd7b8d2b5e2fb2b8c8d145e21ce
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Attachments
rat4+.FCStd
(39.94 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
/Hannu
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:28 pm

the fillet is no problem the FC is it
rat4_fillet.jpg
rat4_fillet.jpg (20.52 KiB) Viewed 388 times
rat4_fillet.FCStd
(61.22 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
this is STL made by 5 klicks in Blender3D from the SVG
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Posts: 7074
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby DeepSOIC » Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:41 pm

Hannu wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:03 pm
Quick recreation using splines, no go.
Well, I'd say it kinda works. PartDesign Chamfer (1mm) produces a good looking result, but it fails BOPCheck with a few self-intersection errors. Bizarrely, Part Chamfer yields a different result, where the top face is missing, and there is a visible glitch in chamfered face.
rat4+ (1).FCStd
(314.64 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
So I now come to a strange conclusion, that before giving up on Part chamfer/fillet, I should try PartDesign's one too.

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18234 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 3af5d97e9b2a60823815f662aba25422c4bc45bb
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Russian/Russia (ru_RU)
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:23 pm

cool outcome DEEP
exactly what he liked to adchive
rat_4_mold.jpg
rat_4_mold.jpg (30.41 KiB) Viewed 372 times
koluna
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:36 pm

Re: Part->Chamfer does not work

Postby koluna » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:31 pm

Hannu wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:03 pm
Quick recreation using splines, no go.
I did not understand...
Should I draw by my hands on the contour?