Box selection upgrade

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
petit_chat_noir
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:45 pm

Box selection upgrade

Postby petit_chat_noir » Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:52 pm

Hello,
Is there a way to selected objects with box selection(SHIFT+B) like AutoCAD/draftsight and others:
You pick box points left to right: Only entire object in the box are selected(blue box)
You pick box points right to left: All objects crossing the box are selected(green box)

It should be a good feature. I replaced shortcut by "B" because it's very useful.

edit: erf wrong section sorry
chrisb
Posts: 19044
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Fri Oct 11, 2019 7:40 pm

Moved to Help forum.

It used to work like that. Maybe a regression?
User avatar
petit_chat_noir
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:45 pm

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby petit_chat_noir » Fri Oct 11, 2019 7:55 pm

Thanks chrisb.
I don't konw if it's regression, i missed that:

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux bullseye/sid (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18481 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 07975595ba07bbdeda49e5e095a2e28273dac5ed
Python version: 3.7.5rc1
Qt version: 5.13.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
It's missing :D
chrisb
Posts: 19044
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:04 pm

It worked in
OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.17681 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: e94af7ff5e873f263cac51d7d47df68eca183250
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)

It did no longer work in
OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.17798 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7e60631239109c632a8f6cca83f6e7e5502e43a1
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)
User avatar
petit_chat_noir
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:45 pm

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby petit_chat_noir » Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:49 am

I confirm that it works on FreeCAD 18.3 but not on fresh git compile of FreeCAD v19
chrisb
Posts: 19044
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:30 am

Has someone a version directly before and after the Big Merge? Then we could narrow it down where it comes from.
vocx
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby vocx » Mon Oct 14, 2019 3:56 pm

chrisb wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:30 am
Has someone a version directly before and after the Big Merge? Then we could narrow it down where it comes from.
Realthunder has done a ton of changes after the big merge, so maybe we can ask him directly. It's possible that something changed more recently and not only during the big merge.
realthunder wrote: ping
See the first post in this thread. Has the box selection changed significantly? There should be a difference in behavior between left to right, and right to left selection.
freedman
Posts: 995
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby freedman » Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:22 pm

I see "shift+B" and release the keys, the next left mouse click is a box select.
You pick box points right to left: All objects crossing the box are selected(green box)
I don't see that occuring.

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16085 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 6323069cbbda5ac71dff073f15cc632d8a1f3ea3
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 19044
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:06 pm

Both selections, from left to right and from right to left behave identical as they should from right to left only: Every object touched is selected completely.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18524 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: bea009c1d52b97655dab2d5c0fbddec30989a902
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)
chrisb
Posts: 19044
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:11 pm

In sketcher it works correctly.