Box selection upgrade

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
petit_chat_noir
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:45 pm

Box selection upgrade

Postby petit_chat_noir » Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:52 pm

Hello,
Is there a way to selected objects with box selection(SHIFT+B) like AutoCAD/draftsight and others:
You pick box points left to right: Only entire object in the box are selected(blue box)
You pick box points right to left: All objects crossing the box are selected(green box)

It should be a good feature. I replaced shortcut by "B" because it's very useful.

edit: erf wrong section sorry
chrisb
Posts: 24399
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Fri Oct 11, 2019 7:40 pm

Moved to Help forum.

It used to work like that. Maybe a regression?
User avatar
petit_chat_noir
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:45 pm

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby petit_chat_noir » Fri Oct 11, 2019 7:55 pm

Thanks chrisb.
I don't konw if it's regression, i missed that:

Code: Select all

OS: Debian GNU/Linux bullseye/sid (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18481 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 07975595ba07bbdeda49e5e095a2e28273dac5ed
Python version: 3.7.5rc1
Qt version: 5.13.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
It's missing :D
chrisb
Posts: 24399
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Fri Oct 11, 2019 8:04 pm

It worked in
OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.17681 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: e94af7ff5e873f263cac51d7d47df68eca183250
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)

It did no longer work in
OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.17798 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7e60631239109c632a8f6cca83f6e7e5502e43a1
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)
User avatar
petit_chat_noir
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:45 pm

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby petit_chat_noir » Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:49 am

I confirm that it works on FreeCAD 18.3 but not on fresh git compile of FreeCAD v19
chrisb
Posts: 24399
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:30 am

Has someone a version directly before and after the Big Merge? Then we could narrow it down where it comes from.
vocx
Posts: 4075
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby vocx » Mon Oct 14, 2019 3:56 pm

chrisb wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:30 am
Has someone a version directly before and after the Big Merge? Then we could narrow it down where it comes from.
Realthunder has done a ton of changes after the big merge, so maybe we can ask him directly. It's possible that something changed more recently and not only during the big merge.
realthunder wrote: ping
See the first post in this thread. Has the box selection changed significantly? There should be a difference in behavior between left to right, and right to left selection.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
freedman
Posts: 1429
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby freedman » Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:22 pm

I see "shift+B" and release the keys, the next left mouse click is a box select.
You pick box points right to left: All objects crossing the box are selected(green box)
I don't see that occuring.

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16085 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 6323069cbbda5ac71dff073f15cc632d8a1f3ea3
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 24399
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:06 pm

Both selections, from left to right and from right to left behave identical as they should from right to left only: Every object touched is selected completely.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18524 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: bea009c1d52b97655dab2d5c0fbddec30989a902
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)
chrisb
Posts: 24399
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Box selection upgrade

Postby chrisb » Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:11 pm

In sketcher it works correctly.