beginner: how to drill potholes using ball head milling cutter

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Anpe
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2019 2:51 pm

beginner: how to drill potholes using ball head milling cutter

Postby Anpe » Tue Oct 15, 2019 3:07 pm

Hello,
i have just started up using freecad. I write here because I can not find a way to 3D model what I thought might be super easy.
How to 3D model a body that holds pothole drills, made with a ball head milling cutter.
I started up in "part-Design" with a sketch, moved in position and then extrude it, using the groove function. However this works fine for one hole, I can't think of going like this to do my 64 intended drill positions.
Is there a way of using the drill tool for tasks like this?
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: beginner: how to drill potholes using ball head milling cutter

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Tue Oct 15, 2019 5:36 pm

you can pattern your holes
and the Path workbench will grep them
chrisb
Posts: 19640
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: beginner: how to drill potholes using ball head milling cutter

Postby chrisb » Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:18 pm

You can use PathArray to get just the G-codes without changing the model.

You should read through some tutorials and forum posts to get the wording right to avoid misunderstandings. In Part workbench you can extrude which creates a solid. In PartDesign the counterpart is called Pad. Both add material. Groove takes material away.
User avatar
pl7i92LCNC
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: RLP DE

Re: beginner: how to drill potholes using ball head milling cutter

Postby pl7i92LCNC » Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:29 am

it will be a straight learning Curve to you as of all CAD/CAM systems it may take some days to be a Semipro
but at all it is the way you shoudt go to get your system set up to a full opensource workflow