Basic CAD-Method in FC

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
RafaelK

Basic CAD-Method in FC

Post by RafaelK »

Hello,

i'm new to FC and watched many tutorials and several primitve parts to get to know the main tools.
I think i know now how to work with most important tools and build single parts and i even know how to assemble several indepent parts.
But i don't know how to handle a complicate project with many parts, where all parts depent on each other.
To be more specific:
I want to build a stair as shown in the attached picture (picture 2).
My problem is that i don't know how to continue from the ground view (picture 1) on.
How do i extract each single step (stair step) from the ground view into parts and place them in the 3D space.

I know its a quite basic question, so i'm sure someone can tell me the basic workflow to accomplish my goal.
Thanks for your answers.
Rafael
Attachments
Unbenannt.PNG
Unbenannt.PNG (7 KiB) Viewed 889 times
3D Bild1.PNG
3D Bild1.PNG (188.64 KiB) Viewed 889 times
RafaelK

Re: Basic CAD-Method in FC

Post by RafaelK »

Hi easy-fc,

thanks for your answer.
But i'm rather looking for a description/tutorial/example for the method of creating 3D parts based on the 2D ground view and assemble them in the 3D space.
I do not want "just" a tool or macro to create the whole stair for me.

Rafael
freedman
Veteran

Post by freedman »

Draw sketches of each tread in the XY plane, then move them upwards to the height you want (z axis change). Each tread can be padded for thickness.The side rails; you will need to describe what you intend to build with, steel, wood, because if they are curved they will be handled differently. You can import from DXF but this should be easy to draw in Sketcher.
RafaelK

Post by RafaelK »