[Solved] how to make a freecad image transparent?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
chrisb
Posts: 28806
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: how to make a freecad image transparent?

Postby chrisb » Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:03 am

I don't think it's a bug, FreeCAD is no image processor; but it can well be a feature request.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2915
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: how to make a freecad image transparent?

Postby easyw-fc » Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:44 am

chrisb wrote:
Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:03 am
I don't think it's a bug, FreeCAD is no image processor; but it can well be a feature request.
I think it is a bug simply because the ImagePlane has the attribute Transparency which is not honored.
chrisb
Posts: 28806
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: how to make a freecad image transparent?

Postby chrisb » Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:38 pm

Argument accepted :) !
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 6076
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: how to make a freecad image transparent?

Postby bejant » Sat Nov 09, 2019 3:13 am

I thought that at one time Transparency did work for the Image Plane, maybe in FreeCAD 0.16 or earlier?
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16616
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: how to make a freecad image transparent?

Postby wmayer » Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:12 pm

User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2915
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: how to make a freecad image transparent?

Postby easyw-fc » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:24 pm

wmayer wrote:
Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:12 pm
git commit b36c94643
Thanks! :D
chrisalbo
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:13 am

Re: [Solved] how to make a freecad image transparent?

Postby chrisalbo » Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:26 am

Hello,
Just to add to this issue, so it may help locate the root of the problem:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)

For me the same problem happens only if all other visible elements are in "shaded" Display Mode. As soon as there is at least 1 visible 3D part that is either in Flat Lines, Wireframe, or Points Display Mode the problem goes away and the imported .png has the transparent areas shown correctly (otherwise it shows dark garbage).

Thanks!
--
Christian