Line, hatch and dimension problems

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Paulpot
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:59 pm

Line, hatch and dimension problems

Postby Paulpot » Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:33 pm

1. Line: Not sure what I did, but now all my attempts to draw line is failing.
I'm not getting the usual square and circle symbol for a new line (Line 037).

2. Dimension: Don't see the dimension I created for "Line".

3. Hatch: I created outer perimeter and inner perimeter to create hatch and then delete the inner perimeter by exploding at the end (something you see in AutoCAD).

Attached is the freecad file.
Thanks a lot!
Attachments
870.FCStd
(34.44 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
User avatar
Willem
Posts: 1322
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Lisse, The Netherlands

Re: Line, hatch and dimension problems

Postby Willem » Tue Nov 19, 2019 9:13 pm

Line037 and the dimension are not drawn with the Draft tools. How you made these I do not know.
Hatching is only possible in the Techdraw workbench
Paulpot
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:59 pm

Re: Line, hatch and dimension problems

Postby Paulpot » Tue Nov 19, 2019 11:52 pm

Thanks Willem.

To achieve what I was trying to do, which workbench is the right one for me?

Thanks.
Paulpot
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:59 pm

Re: Line, hatch and dimension problems

Postby Paulpot » Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:53 pm

In case anyone bumps into this thread in the future:

After wasting hundreds of hours, I concluded that it was a bug and the only workaround I found was the last reply in this thread. https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=32104

Reinstalling won't solve the problem just in case that's what is in your frustrated mind. This bug keeps coming and I keep doing the workaround for the time being unless someone can come up with an actual permanent fix or solution.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7063
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Line, hatch and dimension problems

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:32 pm

What version of FC are you using?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features