KicadStepUp UI file error (solved)

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
vocx
Posts: 2829
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby vocx » Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:12 pm

jps3001 wrote:
Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:16 pm
...
During initialization the error invalid syntax (dimensioning.py, line 53) occurred in C:\Users\vosec\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Macro\Mod\FreeCAD_drawing_dimensioning-d73728a75b595e3a40e749ca1d939e218d14b11d\InitGui.py
...
You have several errors about syntax in the Drawing Dimensioning Addon, the Fasteners Workbench, KiCADStepUP, and Part-o-Magic.

The Drawing Workbench is obsolete, so you shouldn't be using the Drawing Dimensioning Addon at all. Use TechDraw.

The syntax problems sounds like you are using Python 2 but some addons only support Python 3. You should not be using Python 2 because it is obsolete.

You really need to paste the information in Std_About to know more about your system. Remove all addons and install them again one by one until you identify one that is causing the problem.

Also, please notice that KiCADStepUp is an external workbench; therefore, you should ask the author of that workbench first if you have a problem with it. This addon is not maintained by the core FreeCAD team; none of the addons are. Their individual authors should be responsible for providing support in case something doesn't work right.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2773
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby easyw-fc » Fri Dec 20, 2019 10:34 pm

vocx wrote:
Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:12 pm
Also, please notice that KiCADStepUp is an external workbench; therefore, you should ask the author of that workbench first if you have a problem with it.
the author is already listening :D
vocx wrote:
Fri Dec 20, 2019 7:12 pm
This addon is not maintained by the core FreeCAD team; none of the addons are. Their individual authors should be responsible for providing support in case something doesn't work right.
StepUp should work both with py2 and py3 but without having the feedback I asked for it is really difficult to help :lol:
jps3001
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby jps3001 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 11:24 am

I have downloaded Python v3.8 (64 bit) but
the Python Console in Freecad is still refering to Python v3.6.6

How can I implement the new Python version in Freecad ?
vocx
Posts: 2829
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby vocx » Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:07 am

jps3001 wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 11:24 am
...
How can I implement the new Python version in Freecad ?
Your problem is not Python. Please provide the information asked by easyw-fc.

Do not use Drawing Dimensioning as it is obsolete.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
jps3001
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby jps3001 » Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:38 am

What would you like as full FC info ?
I have already posted the report view
what else do you need ?
chrisb
Posts: 21407
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby chrisb » Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:58 am

jps3001 wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:38 am
What would you like as full FC info ?
Follow the IMPORTANT link above and read point 4.
jps3001
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby jps3001 » Tue Dec 31, 2019 11:39 am

I only 2 points :

If you want effective help, you have to:
1) you need to post your full FC info
2) attach a FC logfile to your post

where are 3 & 4 ?
vocx
Posts: 2829
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby vocx » Wed Jan 01, 2020 1:23 am

jps3001 wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 11:39 am
I only 2 points :
...
Important.png
Important.png (49.2 KiB) Viewed 120 times
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: paypal.
jps3001
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 2:36 pm

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby jps3001 » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:01 pm

Pls find below my Freecad version infos:

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16117 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: dbb4cc6415bac848a294f03b80f65e888d531742
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2773
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: KicadStepUp UI file error

Postby easyw-fc » Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:41 pm

jps3001 wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:01 pm
Pls find below my Freecad version infos:
Ok,
you shouldn't have issues on this FC release and OS.

Anyway here my suggestions:
1) update FC to latest 0.18.4 (it has many bug fixes)
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/releases/tag/0.18.4
2) copy your configuration files to a safe location and delete the configuration file folder to have a 'clean' installation
On Windows: Open the file explorer, and write %APPDATA%/FreeCAD as the file path. Once there, COPY the files user.cfg and system.cfg and all folders to a backup location, then delete all files and location inside your %APPDATA%/FreeCAD folder
3) launch FC and install KiCAD StepUp WB using the Addons Tool
4) close FC e re-launch it to see if you get errors
5) in case of errors please open a Command prompt and digit:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\FreeCAD\bin\FreeCAD.exe" --log-file C:\Users\vosec\Documents\FreeCAD-log.txt
and post here the log file C:\Users\vosec\Documents\FreeCAD-log.txt