Fasteners Workbench

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
gunasekaramani
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:41 am

Fasteners Workbench

Postby gunasekaramani » Fri Dec 13, 2019 6:14 am

In fasteners workbench, I select the ISO4032 nut its diameter is M6, but I need a M4 diameter with inner thread, while I selecting this parameter which I want it shows " Shape is not a shell ", how do I fix this bug. If it is possible, show me how to do that. And I attached screenshot and document with this description. And I have use the Freecad 0.18 version.
Nut.png
Nut.png (157.08 KiB) Viewed 285 times
Nut.FCStd
(11.08 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1987
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Fasteners Workbench

Postby Jee-Bee » Fri Dec 13, 2019 8:47 am

Please can a mode move this thread to open discussion or so. Unrelated to partdesign
chrisb
Posts: 21320
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Fasteners Workbench

Postby chrisb » Fri Dec 13, 2019 9:34 am

Search the forum for "fasteners M4 shape is not a shell" and you will find https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?t=41200.
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 1099
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: Fasteners Workbench

Postby papyblaise » Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:53 am

yes M5 or smaller don't exist in thread version , if you have absolut necessite you can import the nut , import a screw at same dia , thread=True , and soustract booleen
Attachments
M4.PNG
M4.PNG (18.21 KiB) Viewed 241 times
gunasekaramani
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:41 am

Re: Fasteners Workbench

Postby gunasekaramani » Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:54 am

papyblaise wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:53 am
yes M5 or smaller don't exist in thread version , if you have absolut necessite you can import the nut , import a screw at same dia , thread=True , and soustract booleen
can you sent this file?
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 1099
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: Fasteners Workbench

Postby papyblaise » Fri Dec 13, 2019 12:01 pm

yes
Attachments
M5 nut.FCStd
(101.58 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
User avatar
shaise
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 am

Re: Fasteners Workbench

Postby shaise » Fri Dec 13, 2019 12:58 pm

In FreeCad 0.18/0.19 (uses OCC v7.3) some of the Fasteners exhibit this issue. If you try FreeCad V0.17 it will work. (This is what I do when I need to 3D print threads)
Syres
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Fasteners Workbench

Postby Syres » Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:13 pm

0.17 didn't work for me but 0.16 produces a M4 4032 Nut with threads, I always make a Part>Simple Copy if in doubt before bringing the file into a newer FreeCAD version:

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6712 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: da2d364457257a7a8c6fb2137cea12c45becd71a
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
chrisb
Posts: 21320
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Fasteners Workbench

Postby chrisb » Sat Dec 14, 2019 12:16 am

I have manually created an M4 nut in 0.19 using the profile with the cut off triangle from my machinery handbook:
Snip macro screenshot-8aa830.png
Snip macro screenshot-8aa830.png (9.64 KiB) Viewed 167 times
So current OCC is able to produce such threads. So Fasteners may be able to create them too.

I have also tried to set the 3D printing factors to A=1 and B=0, but it did not help creating an M4 threaded nut.

If I can do anything else to help, please let me know.
Attachments
m4.FCStd
(110.12 KiB) Downloaded 5 times