[Solved] Edge selection of Part::compounds causes exception

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
kbwbe
Veteran
Posts: 1052
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

[Solved] Edge selection of Part::compounds causes exception

Post by kbwbe »

Hi,

with the Part WB, i have created to different compounds.
When selecting an edge on the first compound and then an edge on the second compound, the report view is flooded with error messages.

The error does not appear if both edges are selected from one of the compounds.

This is a screenshot of the test:
compound-selection.png
compound-selection.png (55.38 KiB) Viewed 958 times
.
The error within report view is:

Code: Select all

<Exception> Geometry.cpp(3829): Geom_TrimmedCurve::parameters out of range
<Exception> Geometry.cpp(3829): Geom_TrimmedCurve::parameters out of range
<Exception> Geometry.cpp(3829): Geom_TrimmedCurve::parameters out of range
<Exception> Geometry.cpp(3829): Geom_TrimmedCurve::parameters out of range
<Exception> Geometry.cpp(3829): Geom_TrimmedCurve::parameters out of range
.
Find test-file attached.
.
My system:

Code: Select all

OS: Linux Mint 19.2 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
Attachments
compounds.FCStd
(16.96 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
Last edited by kbwbe on Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.56, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorial: gripper assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMxcQ5tssWk
Documentation: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
User avatar
Roy_043
Veteran
Posts: 8450
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: [Bug?] Edge selection of Part::compounds causes exception

Post by Roy_043 »

No problem here:

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19263 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: c4ca00a1d5b7922ef1d2ae3e820bb34ffdb64d9f
Python version: 3.7.3
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Dutch/Netherlands (nl_NL)
Syres
Veteran
Posts: 2893
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: [Bug?] Edge selection of Part::compounds causes exception

Post by Syres »

Cannot replicate bug using either:

OS: Windows 7 SP 1 (6.1)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19311 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 120b69c74f7dac8c4fa6dbc0a7e10674bde9216c
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)

or :

OS: Linux Mint 19.1 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19285 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 8b2e318f15ee6304e8d89f48b2ac45af3bf61aed
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
kbwbe
Veteran
Posts: 1052
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: [Bug?] Edge selection of Part::compounds causes exception

Post by kbwbe »

Thank you for testing Guy's.

I tried two additional versions. On both versions the error remains on my system..

(a) fresh compiled from recent master

Code: Select all

OS: Linux Mint 19.2 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19317 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 2064410da473da178cf79cb8d80ef48952df00c5
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
(b) newest AppImage

Code: Select all

OS: Linux Mint 19.2 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19310 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a3622ee49feb4391e3c1015f8922095e75af538f
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.56, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorial: gripper assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMxcQ5tssWk
Documentation: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 53919
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [Bug?] Edge selection of Part::compounds causes exception

Post by chrisb »

Downloaded newest version, but no issues here. You me reset your configuration for a test.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19310 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a3622ee49feb4391e3c1015f8922095e75af538f
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/Germany (en_DE)
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
kbwbe
Veteran
Posts: 1052
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: [Bug?] Edge selection of Part::compounds causes exception

Post by kbwbe »

chrisb wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:00 pm Downloaded newest version, but no issues here. You me reset your configuration for a test.
Thank you @ChrisB, that was it...
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.56, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorial: gripper assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMxcQ5tssWk
Documentation: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
Post Reply