[?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
duncandoo
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 7:22 pm

[?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby duncandoo » Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:11 pm

Since installing 0.19 on MacOS, the Addon Manager just hangs. The Addon Manager in 0.18 works just fine. I've attached everything I can find, but can't figure this out. You'll see there are some other errors, which may give clues, and may or may not be separate bugs. Again, would be pleased to sort these out, do advise whether I should start separate discussions about these.


Steps to reproduce:

1. run FreeCAD
2. click Menu>Tools>Addons Manager
3. wait, wait, wait......
Screen Shot 2020-01-27 at 17.42.00.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-27 at 17.42.00.png (57.39 KiB) Viewed 1004 times
It remains like this forever, over an hour at least.

...but
4. click Macros
Screen Shot 2020-01-27 at 17.42.19.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-27 at 17.42.19.png (120.58 KiB) Viewed 1004 times

Version:

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19323 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1b198453b8eb6aa2eaca4e4be4b49fee74e9de6e
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)


Error Messages

Running from the terminal yields:

Code: Select all

FreeCAD 0.19, Libs: 0.19R19323 (Git)
© Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2020
  #####                 ####  ###   ####  
  #                    #      # #   #   # 
  #     ##  #### ####  #     #   #  #   # 
  ####  # # #  # #  #  #     #####  #   # 
  #     #   #### ####  #    #     # #   # 
  #     #   #    #     #    #     # #   #  ##  ##  ##
  #     #   #### ####   ### #     # ####   ##  ##  ##

Geodat WB: Cannot import module named cv2
Geodat WB: Cannot import module named gdal gdalconst
During initialization the error "'backend.qt4 is not a valid rc parameter (see rcParams.keys() for a list of valid parameters)'" occurred in /Applications/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Animation-master/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information
During initialization the error "'backend.qt4 is not a valid rc parameter (see rcParams.keys() for a list of valid parameters)'" occurred in /Users/duncan/Library/Preferences/FreeCAD/Mod/animation/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information
GVA error: Not detecting IGPU in IORegistry!
GVA error: Not detecting valid offline codec!
GVA info: Successfully connected to the Intel plugin, offline Gen6

Log file:

Here's the log file. I made two log files, one just opening and closing FreeCAD, the other, attached, opening FreeCAD, opening Addon Manager and then closing. They are exactly the same file, apart from timestamp.
freecad4.log
(16.36 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
Thanks for any help you can give.
Meru
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 6:17 am

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby Meru » Sat Feb 01, 2020 3:17 pm

The same here:

Code: Select all

OS: macOS 10.15
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19405 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: d2b943e8b7d8fe2673a4e20671b6cb0f8180fdbd
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
Gruß M
vocx
Posts: 5206
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby vocx » Sat Feb 01, 2020 5:24 pm

duncandoo wrote:
Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:11 pm
Running from the terminal yields:

Code: Select all

FreeCAD 0.19, Libs: 0.19R19323 (Git)
Geodat WB: Cannot import module named cv2
Geodat WB: Cannot import module named gdal gdalconst

During initialization the error "'backend.qt4 is not a valid rc parameter (see rcParams.keys() for a list of valid parameters)'" occurred in /Applications/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Animation-master/InitGui.py

During initialization the error "'backend.qt4 is not a valid rc parameter (see rcParams.keys() for a list of valid parameters)'" occurred in /Users/duncan/Library/Preferences/FreeCAD/Mod/animation/InitGui.py
You seem to need "cv2" and "gdal" packages to be able to install the Geodat workbench.

There are some warnings about missing backends for Qt4 for the Animation workbench. And you have two such workbenches, one called, "Animation-master", and another one called "animation".

I would manually delete these folders, and try to re-install.

Code: Select all

rm -rf /Applications/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/Animation-master/
rm -rf /Applications/FreeCAD.app/Contents/Resources/Mod/animation/
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
steve123
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:58 pm

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby steve123 » Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:00 pm

I am having the same problem. My log is clean (no errors). Add-on manager does not list the workbenches but it does list the macros.

OS: macOS Mojave (10.14)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19323 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1b198453b8eb6aa2eaca4e4be4b49fee74e9de6e
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
chrisb
Posts: 28052
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby chrisb » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:34 pm

Moved from Developers forum.
chrisb
Posts: 28052
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby chrisb » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:39 pm

I can confirm. I tested with a plain vanilla config directory. No messages on startup, no messages when calling Addon manager. The list of workbenches stays empty, not hanging. Macros are ok.

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19405 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: d2b943e8b7d8fe2673a4e20671b6cb0f8180fdbd
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3468
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby looo » Sun Feb 02, 2020 5:21 am

Did the addon-manager work with any of the py3.8 builds?
chrisb
Posts: 28052
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby chrisb » Sun Feb 02, 2020 7:11 am

looo wrote:
Sun Feb 02, 2020 5:21 am
Did the addon-manager work with any of the py3.8 builds?
No.
User avatar
looo
Posts: 3468
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby looo » Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:23 pm

chrisb wrote:
Sun Feb 02, 2020 7:11 am
No.
I have no access to the mini until 12.02. If you find any hints on how to solve the problem please report back.
chrisb
Posts: 28052
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: [?BUG] Addon Manager hangs in 0.19 on MacOS and possibly related issues.

Postby chrisb » Mon Feb 03, 2020 6:39 pm

I should be able to narrow this down. I tried for now the brute force method of copying an old version of Mod/AddonManager - and it works!