Ticket #4272 - Pick radius flickering

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
MuffinChocolate
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:16 am

Ticket #4272 - Pick radius flickering

Postby MuffinChocolate » Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:21 am

Hello,

I installed Freecad using aptitude, I am running XUbuntu 19.10.

1) New file
2) New sketch
3) Create line
4) Then do what I do in the gif.

Gif see attachments.

PS: I did set the pick radius to 10px, but yes, this occurs with the default setting of 5px as well.

Thanks!
Attachments
simplescreenrecorder-2020-02-22_01.51.49.gif
simplescreenrecorder-2020-02-22_01.51.49.gif (136.32 KiB) Viewed 532 times
Last edited by Kunda1 on Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added ticket number to thread title
UR_
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: 0.18.3 - Pick radius flickering

Postby UR_ » Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:35 am

Here too.

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19694 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 288456ee4beb9e8dc27d50a7984c40c45467161f
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)



But only if tool selected.

screenshot.gif
screenshot.gif (14.94 KiB) Viewed 509 times
screenshot2.gif
screenshot2.gif (54.69 KiB) Viewed 509 times
chrisb
Posts: 27037
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: 0.18.3 - Pick radius flickering

Postby chrisb » Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:45 am

I have realized this for quite some time and it makes auto constraints rather difficult to use. Since Abdullah is currently not around I didn't investigate it any further. I have the feeling that it is not always the case.
MuffinChocolate
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:16 am

Re: 0.18.3 - Pick radius flickering

Postby MuffinChocolate » Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:22 pm

Hello,

Thank you for circling in on this UR_.

@chrisb:
I did not find an open bug for this.
I must say, reporting bugs even for someone with software development experience who also reported bugs on other projects is quite cumbersome.
It was difficult to find an issue search mask that does not expect an id but works with keywords.
Then I felt I had to register there so I made an account.
Then a guide says to ask on the forums first.
Couldn't use the credentials here, had to register again.
Didn't find a subforum specifically dedicated to this, so instead I posted here.

It seems to be a rather obvious bug, and I am sure I made a lot of mistakes trying to find a way to report this, but I feel like there must be a huge resistance for others if I am the only one that ended up here.
chrisb
Posts: 27037
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: 0.18.3 - Pick radius flickering

Postby chrisb » Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:30 pm

It is perfectly correct to discuss errors here first. Even if you and I think something is a bug, others may not or have already a solution in the queue or may tell you that the bug cannot be fixed by a FreeCAD developer, because it comes from one of the third party libraries, or there is an easy workaround.

What we see in most cases is no bug at all, but rather user errors.

And finally, and this is very important, you make the error known to the community and others can help accordingly.
MuffinChocolate
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:16 am

Re: 0.18.3 - Pick radius flickering

Postby MuffinChocolate » Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:11 pm

What else can I do at this point? Anything you want me to try or supply?
openBrain
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: 0.18.3 - Pick radius flickering

Postby openBrain » Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:23 pm

MuffinChocolate wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:11 pm
What else can I do at this point? Anything you want me to try or supply?
I you have ability to do so, you can investigate starting from this point. ;)
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: 0.18.3 - Pick radius flickering

Postby triplus » Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:17 pm

Disco mode?
MuffinChocolate
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:16 am

Re: 0.18.3 - Pick radius flickering

Postby MuffinChocolate » Sat Feb 22, 2020 8:17 pm

Okay, I have managed to compile freecad and do a bit of very primitive debugging.

https://i.imgur.com/PZd7Ijx.mp4

I followed that call, checked the blame history, other commits were in the range of 3-8 years, this one is fairly recent. With 0 knowledge of the code I am just taking the blame approach here, maybe this bit of work will help someone with more experience working on freecad pinpoint this faster.
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/comm ... 0bc9349590

EDIT:
Hmm, the issue exists in 0.17 as well.
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/releases/tag/0.17

EDIT2:
And in 0.16 as well.
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/releases/tag/0.16

There is no archive of older precompiled versions for linux (that I know of), I just have to assume at this point that this has been there since forever.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7999
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Ticket #4272 - Pick radius flickering

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:48 am

OP opened issue #4272
Mod Edit: Please x-post back to ticket in the thread next time.
Thanks for reporting.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features