Refine does not remove edges

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
kisolre
Posts: 2258
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Refine does not remove edges

Postby kisolre » Sat Feb 22, 2020 7:37 am

I was trying to mirror whole body inside itself by using scaled to -1 clone and fusing to original. It lookas like it works but then I tryed to refine the features and it did not remove internal edges. Any idea why?
.
RefineEr.JPG
RefineEr.JPG (69.88 KiB) Viewed 147 times
.
OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19678 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: b34f0aef34297c5eda6fb5cf1bbc1b43d452a31d
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Bulgarian/Bulgaria (bg_BG)
Attachments
RefineErr.FCStd
(26.69 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
UR_
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Refine does not remove edges

Postby UR_ » Sat Feb 22, 2020 7:57 am

Different types of surfaces can't be "refined" together.

Screenshot 005.png
Screenshot 005.png (11.95 KiB) Viewed 140 times
Screenshot 006.png
Screenshot 006.png (15.88 KiB) Viewed 140 times
kisolre
Posts: 2258
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Refine does not remove edges

Postby kisolre » Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:16 am

Why are they different? Did the clone convert that Plane to BSplineSurface? I tried just displacing the clone and it is properly refined. But any scale <>1 causes such conversion. Is it OCC thing and is there a way to avoid it?
How do you inspect the faces like in your scfreenshots?
UR_
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Refine does not remove edges

Postby UR_ » Sat Feb 22, 2020 10:00 am

kisolre wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:16 am
How do you inspect the faces like in your scfreenshots?

Done with "Info" tool from CurvesWB.

Screenshot 007.png
Screenshot 007.png (22.12 KiB) Viewed 116 times
openBrain
Posts: 4508
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Refine does not remove edges

Postby openBrain » Sat Feb 22, 2020 10:33 am

kisolre wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:16 am
Did the clone convert that Plane to BSplineSurface?
I think so but don't know why. Link seems to not suffer this problem when scaled. ;)
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16301
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Refine does not remove edges

Postby wmayer » Sat Feb 22, 2020 11:20 am

openBrain wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 10:33 am
kisolre wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:16 am
Did the clone convert that Plane to BSplineSurface?
I think so but don't know why. Link seems to not suffer this problem when scaled. ;)
OCCT has two transformation methods: a geometric transformation and a transformation that changes the placement

For the geometric transformation OCCT has the habit to convert all geometries into B-Spline curves/surfaces. It does so even if the transformation is a simple translation.

For the latter OCCT doesn't touch the underlying geometry. But for scaling operations (especially when values are different in the local X,Y,Z axes) you must use the geometric variant.