New to FreeCAD and CAD, need help tracing out and enlarging parts...

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
basslord1124

New to FreeCAD and CAD, need help tracing out and enlarging parts...

Post by basslord1124 »

All right I am totally new to using any kind of CAD program, but I know it will beneficial in some things that I do. I am an RC pilot who likes to build RC airplanes. And I'm wanting to venture into modifying existing plane designs and maybe do my own at some point. I hope to eventually take these designs and start doing things with laser and 3D printers too. I mainly use foamboard, foam, and wood for the material.

To sort of start into doing CAD,I have this project of making a foamboard version of the Travel Air Mystery Ship. There are really very few already existing plans for the plane itself...all I've been able to find are some old smaller balsa wood plans. I want to take these existing plans and enlarge some of the basic shapes and parts and cut them out of foam and foamboard.

I added a sample pic of the plane to give you all an idea of what I am wanting to do. I currently use FreeCAD 0.16 on Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon Edition. I can open the jpg in the program but just not sure what tools/workbenches I need to get started.

Those who also do this will take the parts/plane, and put those into a tile PDF format that can be printed on a standard printer. Appreciate any help. In the mean time, I'll try and play around some more and see if I can figure it out a little. Thanks a bunch!
Attachments
267598_63d1a203abf8687dcce093f3eff2b879.jpg
267598_63d1a203abf8687dcce093f3eff2b879.jpg (24.25 KiB) Viewed 740 times
jmaustpc
Veteran

Re: New to FreeCAD and CAD, need help tracing out and enlarging parts...

Post by jmaustpc »

Hi, welcome to FreeCAD.