FreeCAD does not open backup files

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
kisolre
Posts: 2258
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

FreeCAD does not open backup files

Postby kisolre » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:08 am

Any idea why FreeCAD does not directly open its own backup files? At least under Windows they have to be renamed first to FCStd.

OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20221 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: e25cdd2d043f3fbe5f71155a296f322aec6b85b7
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Bulgarian/Bulgaria (bg_BG)
chrisb
Posts: 26935
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD does not open backup files

Postby chrisb » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:08 am

It's on all systems like that and it's on purpose to not inadvertently edit in a backup file.
kisolre
Posts: 2258
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: FreeCAD does not open backup files

Postby kisolre » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:22 am

Fair point. Thanks for the info. Should this be mentioned somewhere in the docs?
chrisb
Posts: 26935
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: FreeCAD does not open backup files

Postby chrisb » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:26 am

kisolre wrote:
Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:22 am
Should this be mentioned somewhere in the docs?
Of course. Even if it's already there it can be repeated in appropriate places.
UR_
Posts: 1188
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: FreeCAD does not open backup files

Postby UR_ » Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:08 pm

kisolre wrote:
Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:08 am
At least under Windows they have to be renamed first to FCStd.

At least under windows it's very easy to register .FCStd1 files to it's application FreeCAD.exe.
So no renaming is necessary.


Select a FCStd1 file using explorer (context menu)->open with

Screenshot 001.png
Screenshot 001.png (42.18 KiB) Viewed 135 times

Select FreeCAD.exe and set checkbox "Always use this app ..."

Screenshot 002.png
Screenshot 002.png (21.27 KiB) Viewed 135 times

That's all. ;)
kisolre
Posts: 2258
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: FreeCAD does not open backup files

Postby kisolre » Mon Mar 23, 2020 1:06 pm

UR_ wrote:
Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:08 pm
At least under windows it's very easy to register .FCStd1 files to it's application FreeCAD.exe.
So no renaming is necessary.
Have you actually tried that?
.
UnsupportedFileFormat.JPG
UnsupportedFileFormat.JPG (37.52 KiB) Viewed 116 times
.
Now I have to unregister FCStd1 because there was no checkbox :(