Turning PAD around its axis

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
kennethbiles

Turning PAD around its axis

Postby kennethbiles » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:33 pm

Again a total newbie question. I will try to use proper terminology, so this will get wierd and confusing. I searched the forum and found many references to this question, but the answers did not appear to work for me.

I am making a support out of metal tube. This will have supports when looking from the front in the front plan going at a 45 degree angle from the horizontal top to the vertical side. To represent this in FreeCAD I did the following sucessfully.

In Sketcher. I created a constrained 2D object that was the appropriate size and shape. Snip_05_01
Snip_05_01.JPG
Snip_05_01.JPG (147.02 KiB) Viewed 160 times
I changed workbenches to Part and used the PAD option to create a 3D object of the correct size
I created a cube of the correct size, shape and location and used the "Cut from two objects" tool to remove the center of the PAD to create a hollow tube with a 90 end and a 45 end.
Used the Angle, Axis and Position Properties of the PAD to place the hollow tube in the correct location in relation to the other objects of the grill support. For organization I have each object contained in a Part Body.

My issue is after all that.

To make the pad I had to draw the 45 on the XY plain then PAD that up. When in position the 45 of the object is in the wrong orientation in relation to the other objects (Snip_05_02). I can attach my FreeCAD file if it will help, but did not want to start with that because I have no idea of the size of that file.

Any help on how to do this, if it is possible, will be appreaciated. I have seen references to an Assembly Workbench, but assume that is still in development.