Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
chrisb
Posts: 24414
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby chrisb » Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:54 am

The context menu of a PartDesign body offers "Set Tip", which does not set the tip, it removes the Tip instead. So I have the following feature request:

Remove "Set Tip" from the body's context menu.

Or should this be classified as a bug?

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20209 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5fc4a26a00390e91cbf91848b766b68ad87e5917
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
openBrain
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby openBrain » Mon Apr 06, 2020 9:03 am

Works as expected here with build 20391. ;) Maybe a glitch during development.
In any case, this feature has to stay available IMO.
---
OS: Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS (KDE/plasma)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20391 +3 (Git)
Build type: Debug
Branch: sketchColorIcons
Hash: 2e3f59cbf8c60ad3a8e22f1f79085643b6a38d41
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: French/France (fr_FR)
chrisb
Posts: 24414
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby chrisb » Mon Apr 06, 2020 9:32 am

Thanks, will update my version and retest.

Edit: Will delay this until the new build is out, latest non-windows version is 80 commits behind.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15756
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby wmayer » Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:38 pm

openBrain wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 9:03 am
Works as expected here with build 20391. ;) Maybe a glitch during development.
In any case, this feature has to stay available IMO.
It works as expected for any sub-objects of a body. But when you right-click on the body this command appears too and when clicking on it the tip is nullified. No idea if this is on purpose or not but to me it doesn't make a lot of sense.
openBrain
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby openBrain » Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:49 pm

wmayer wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:38 pm
It works as expected for any sub-objects of a body. But when you right-click on the body this command appears too and when clicking on it the tip is nullified. No idea if this is on purpose or not but to me it doesn't make a lot of sense.
Looks like I didn't actually read @chrisb's statement enough carefully. :) I agree doesn't make much sense. It could eventually allow to nullify the shape of the body when used in further Part BOPs, but it actually just lead to errors. So pretty useless and hazardous as a feature. ;)
chrisb
Posts: 24414
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby chrisb » Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:57 pm

I create a bug report.
drmacro
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby drmacro » Mon Apr 06, 2020 1:23 pm

Not sure if this is discussing at something similar:

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 10#p383645

i.e. The Body Display Mode versus the Tip of the body.

Maybe?
kisolre
Posts: 2135
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby kisolre » Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:22 pm

Probably intended to display a list of body features to select the tip from? And never actually implemented...
chrisb
Posts: 24414
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby chrisb » Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:00 pm

Before creating a feature request, let's discuss what shoud be implemented. Selecting the value of a body's Tip in the DataTab selects the Tip feature which thus should be easy to implement as well. Currently we have these options:

- Remove "Set Tip" from the context menus in the tree and the 3D view
- show a list of all features with Tip preselected to select the new Tip; should have Cancel and Ok button
- rename in the context menus to "Select Tip" and do the same as in the DataTab.
openBrain
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Tip is removed from the body; feature request or bug?

Postby openBrain » Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:09 pm

I think ATM as a bug fixing, let remove it from the Body contextual menu.
Then take time to discuss if something is needed. ;)