Creating Shell from Faces

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
usonic
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 7:44 am

Creating Shell from Faces

Postby usonic » Wed Apr 08, 2020 7:56 am

Hello,
In order to do specific modifications on solid, I Downgraded it to faces on Draft workbench. But it does not Upgrade back to Solid anymore on this workbench. So I am using "Advanced utility to create shapes" to create Shell from Faces. This requires to select All faces. If I am using CTRL and clicking on every face of model, then it works fine. But that is really inefficient way when you have more than 400 faces on the model.
I have tried CTRL+A, but that selects vertices and edges too, and result is "Select two or more faces" error on "Advanced utility to create shapes" tool.
Option "All faces" does not do anything.

Is there any better way to select all faces (and faces only) in order to convert Faces to Shell?


OS: Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS (Unity:Unity7:ubuntu/unity)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 26941
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Creating Shell from Faces

Postby chrisb » Wed Apr 08, 2020 10:17 am

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Sorry,cannot help with the selection.

You didn't tell us how you obtained your source object. If it is a FreeCAD model, your way most probably is not appropriate, you should use directly 3D operations to modify your model or even better: use the parametric possibilities of FreeCAD and get the model right.

If it is an imported mesh, then you may modify the mesh, but you are probably better off with a true mesh modeler such as Blender.
usonic
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 7:44 am

Re: Creating Shell from Faces

Postby usonic » Wed Apr 08, 2020 11:10 am

Model is step file, which opens as Solid.

Anyway, I found this macro:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 86#p185075
which does exactly what I need.
UR_
Posts: 1188
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Creating Shell from Faces

Postby UR_ » Wed Apr 08, 2020 6:07 pm

CurvesWB, installable via addon manager, offers this function:

Screenshot 001.png
Screenshot 001.png (18.1 KiB) Viewed 93 times



You have to preselect all needed faces, perhaps by box selection (Shift+b),
and then invoke CurvesWB->Make Solid.
That's all. ;)