Help with using ruler

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
sonicnuance
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:31 am

Help with using ruler

Postby sonicnuance » Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:21 pm

I'm having difficulty measuring distances with the "measure distance" tool (ruler icon in the Part Workbench). Is there a way to constrain the tool to measure in only in the xy plane and/or perpendicular lines? I keep getting diagonal measurements when I want the distance between two parallel lines (for example)

Thanks

PS
I'm using OSX 10.7 and FreeCAD 0.13
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Help with using ruler

Postby NormandC » Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:56 pm

No, it's not possible to constrain it.

I suggest you use the Draft Dimension tool instead, it's a lot more flexible and you can constrain it.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5871
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Help with using ruler

Postby bejant » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:37 am

I think it would be a worthwhile feature so I submitted this ticket.
sonicnuance
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:31 am

Re: Help with using ruler

Postby sonicnuance » Wed Oct 02, 2013 2:24 am

bejant wrote:I think it would be a worthwhile feature so I submitted this ticket.
Thank you for taking the initiative
ewanfowler
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:22 am

Re: Help with using ruler

Postby ewanfowler » Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:25 am

I think you can double click the measurement in the Model pane and see the xyz coordinates of each point so the distance will be the difference. There's probably a better tool for this though as already mentioned
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Help with using ruler

Postby NormandC » Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:16 am

Hello Ewan,

A (belated) welcome here.

You replied to a very old topic. :D A whole set of measurement tools was added since. It is available in the Part workbench.

Std_Measure_Menu

Relating to bejant's bug ticket, the bug tracker was since moved from Sourceforge, so here's the updated link: issue #1263.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5871
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Help with using ruler

Postby bejant » Sun Oct 09, 2016 1:27 pm

Norm, I also replied to your note on the ticket, I think it should be closed.