Ticket #4384 - Formula editor not active window when invoked

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
martin51
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 8:45 pm

Ticket #4384 - Formula editor not active window when invoked

Postby martin51 » Thu Jun 25, 2020 6:25 am

Clicking on the formula editor button when defining a constraint calls the formula editor window to the front but the text entry box is not active until clicked in. As shown in the screen shot the constraint editor behind the formula editor is the active window so any keyboard input lands in the constraint editor not the formula editor.
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 11.05.17 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 11.05.17 PM.png (84.34 KiB) Viewed 139 times
Normally in MacOS any window that is brought to the front becomes the active window so remembering to click in the text entry box or selecting and deleting existing text which is already highlighted rather than immediately entering text is a hard habit to break. It's also odd that the formula editor windows in Constraint and Pad behave differently. In the Constraint Formula editor previously entered text is selected but not active whereas in the Pad formula editor the default text has to be selected before it can be replaced.
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 11.06.10 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-06-24 at 11.06.10 PM.png (81.93 KiB) Viewed 139 times
Maybe I'm just too old a dog to learn a new trick, but is there a simple fix that would make the formula editor windows active with any previous entry selected so that it will be replaced without having to click and/or select?

Thanks as always for help and comments.

OS: macOS 10.15
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21718 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 002e25b5617f2c79f65968f1f82f7267899965c3
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
Attachments
FormulaEditor.FCStd
(9.65 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Last edited by Kunda1 on Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added ticket number to thread title
chrisb
Posts: 25204
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Formula editor not active window when invoked

Postby chrisb » Thu Jun 25, 2020 7:53 am

This is a known issue on MacOS, but I'm not sure if a ticket exists. Please check the tracker and create a ticket if none exists. Cross link it to this topic.
I may add that it works correctly if called from the DataTab. The problem possibly arises due to the double dialog.
martin51
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 8:45 pm

Re: Formula editor not active window when invoked

Postby martin51 » Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:31 pm

chrisb wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 7:53 am
This is a known issue on MacOS, but I'm not sure if a ticket exists. Please check the tracker and create a ticket if none exists. Cross link it to this topic.
I may add that it works correctly if called from the DataTab. The problem possibly arises due to the double dialog.
Couldn't find anything in tracker. Have created new ticket # 0004384
chrisb
Posts: 25204
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Formula editor not active window when invoked

Postby chrisb » Thu Jun 25, 2020 7:38 pm

martin51 wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:31 pm
Have created new ticket # 0004384
Thanks. For the next time: you can use the bug tag which creates a link directly:

Code: Select all

[bug]4384[/bug]
this yields: issue #4384.
tom
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 9:20 pm

Re: Ticket #4384 - Formula editor not active window when invoked

Postby tom » Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:07 pm