image import

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
minimadmalc

image import

Post by minimadmalc »

hi all I am new to FreeCAD and I have a picture (jpeg) of the letter S I need to import it into FreeCAD and copy it so I can print a 3d design of this. My problem is I have tried everything but the image does not show in the program so I can't trace it to a 3d image. Please can someone talk me through this. it can't be hard can it? Thanks
PrzemoF
Veteran

Re: image import

Post by PrzemoF »

Welcome to the forum!

Did you try to search for the solution? Did you read the red banner at the top of this page?
Roy_043
Veteran

Post by Roy_043 »

Use the Image_CreateImagePlane command.
minimadmalc

Post by minimadmalc »

Image import? When I load a image jpeg using create planer image tool it looks like its downloaded the image but I cant see it why? I am new to CAD drawing and would love to learn. My first task is to take a image (jpeg) load it into Freecad then trace it and make a 3d model on my 3d printer. Sounds easy enough but having trouble just downloading the picture and seeing it to trace! I have looked every were for a tutorial on this but the only one I can find is on youtube with a older version of FreeCAD, Please can somone help! Thanks
Roy_043
Veteran

Post by Roy_043 »

Roy_043
Veteran

Post by Roy_043 »

Note that for the outline of TTF letters you should first look at the Draft_ShapeString command.
openBrain
Veteran

Post by openBrain »