The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Bludlust
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:51 am

The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby Bludlust » Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:57 am

FreeCAD 0.18, Ubuntu 20.04 64 bit.

I recently decided to give FreeCAD a try. I keep all my design and drafting files in a separate place NOT in my home folder. When I open FreeCAD and try to access my design files....I can't even get to the drive that has them. FreeCAD displays my home folder ONLY. I have the "Files of Type" selection set to All files (*.*). What am I missing, or what configuration change do I need to make?
Bance
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby Bance » Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:29 am

Could you post a screenshot? FC uses the OS's native file browser if I recall correctly.
drmacro
Posts: 2589
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby drmacro » Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:47 am

Bance wrote:
Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:29 am
Could you post a screenshot? FC uses the OS's native file browser if I recall correctly.
As th OP mentioned FC file open/save does seem to have a mind of its own.

I notice sometimes it saves folders I've used before, sometimes, not. It definitely tosses multi-level folder structures in a seemingly random way (at least I've never been able to define the algorithm for keep or not for previously accessed folders)

I do believe there is a way to switch between native and (QT5?) file dialog, they both behave differently.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
openBrain
Posts: 5485
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby openBrain » Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:44 am

drmacro wrote:
Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:47 am
I do believe there is a way to switch between native and (QT5?) file dialog, they both behave differently.

Code: Select all

FreeCAD.ParamGet("User parameter:BaseApp/Preferences/Dialog").SetBool("DontUseNativeDialog", False)
Needs a FreeCAD restart. ;)
TheMarkster
Posts: 2060
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby TheMarkster » Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:27 pm

Vaguely I remember something about there being instabilities with switching that parameter, but I don't recall details.
My FreeCAD video series on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/mwganson
Bludlust
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:51 am

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby Bludlust » Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:56 am

Yes, I can post a screen shot, actually two.....one shows the Fcad open file window, you'll notice there is no way to choose a different drive. the second shows the OS file open window, and it DOES show "other location" that I can then choose my Drive 2, which is where all of my work files are stored. If I didn't make it clear in my first post, I CANNOT get to my Drive 2. Under linux, alternate drives are usually listed in the "media" directory, and in the OS, it is. However, when I navigate to the root directory and click on the "media" directory using the Fcad window, Drive 2 is not listed. It's a blank widnow.ImageImage
FCAD screenshot.png
FCAD screenshot.png (101.58 KiB) Viewed 340 times
Attachments
OSScreenshot.png
OSScreenshot.png (30.57 KiB) Viewed 340 times
Bludlust
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:51 am

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby Bludlust » Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:05 am

I tried the edit parameters as suggested by openBrain. That did NOT have any effect. no change to behavior. Still only able to navigate only in the home drive, can't get to any other files.
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 2551
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby Roy_043 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:55 am

Have you mounted the drive you want to access?
Bance
Posts: 1354
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby Bance » Thu Jul 30, 2020 7:49 am

From the pull down 'Look in' at the top of Screenshot 1 select ROOT (grey folder with a slash) > media > your drive?
Screenshot from 2020-07-30 08-50-19.png
Screenshot from 2020-07-30 08-50-19.png (215.49 KiB) Viewed 303 times
mario52
Posts: 3353
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: The Open Document Widget is NOT showing ALL my files

Postby mario52 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 8:57 am

hi
TheMarkster wrote:
Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:27 pm
Vaguely I remember something about there being instabilities with switching that parameter, but I don't recall details.
maybe

[PR# 3616] add recent macros to macro menu

my idea :

Standard / imperial unit system change - short cut

just add in end macro:

Code: Select all

Gui.runCommand('Std_DlgPreferences',0)
and click "Ok"
TheMarkster post_id wrote:Thanks, Mario. I think have the bug fixed now.
not fixed
OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22130 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: dc65b055e5143a7d7349520da466d4d722df57e8
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0


mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.