[ Ticket #4436 ] [ Bug ] Points_Structure command does not work properly

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 1770
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

[ Ticket #4436 ] [ Bug ] Points_Structure command does not work properly

Postby Roy_043 » Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:04 pm

As far as I understand things the Points_Structure command should sort the points in a point cloud. The current algorithm seems flawed as only the X and Y coordinates of a point are used in the sorting process and to determine the index of the point in the new point cloud.

src\Mod\Points\Gui\Command.cpp Line 434:

Code: Select all

                if (xx < 0.01 && yy < 0.01) {
                    xi = std::round(xi);
                    yi = std::round(yi);
                    long index = long(yi * width_l + xi);
                    sortedPoints[index] = pnt;
                }
Example:
pt1: 0,0,0
pt2: 0,0,1
pt1 and pt2 will receive the same index in the structured point cloud. Which effectively means that pt1 is overwritten by pt2.

Also the structured point cloud can have 'nan' vectors which the algorithm should only use temporarily. See the attached file.

Code: Select all

App.ActiveDocument.Test13__Structured_.Points.Points
=>

Code: Select all

[Vector (0.0, 0.0, 2.0), Vector (nan, nan, nan), Vector (1.0, 0.0, 2.0), Vector (nan, nan, nan), Vector (0.5, 0.5, 2.5), Vector (nan, nan, nan), Vector (0.0, 1.0, 2.0), Vector (nan, nan, nan), Vector (1.0, 1.0, 2.0)]

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22262 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: f56825c79f11b75648a7a0dcc8a9f52bb4574e61
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Dutch/Netherlands (nl_NL)
Attachments
Test_Points_Structure.FCStd
(3.52 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Last edited by Roy_043 on Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 1770
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: [ Bug ] Points_Structure command does not work properly

Postby Roy_043 » Tue Sep 08, 2020 8:20 am

Bump! Can someone confirm this please. Thanks.
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 1770
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: [ Bug ] Points_Structure command does not work properly

Postby Roy_043 » Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:12 am