[Bug 4428] Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
TedM
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:30 pm

Re: BUG: Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Postby TedM » Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:56 pm

chrisb wrote:
Fri Sep 04, 2020 8:42 pm
So it's a different search. Ted, as a workaround you can use SelectionView, it works as you expect the other search to be.
Agreed, Selection view works fine. I was unaware of it.

I will submit submit a bug report for the context menu search.

Thanks, all.
chrisb
Posts: 29101
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG: Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Postby chrisb » Fri Sep 04, 2020 11:15 pm

TedM wrote:
Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:56 pm
I will submit submit a bug report for the context menu search.
Please create crossreferences between the bug report and this topic.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf deutsch, en français, en español.
TedM
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:30 pm

Re: BUG: Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Postby TedM » Fri Sep 04, 2020 11:21 pm

chrisb wrote:
Fri Sep 04, 2020 11:15 pm
TedM wrote:
Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:56 pm
I will submit submit a bug report for the context menu search.
Please create crossreferences between the bug report and this topic.
Always!
TedM
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:30 pm

Re: BUG: Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Postby TedM » Sat Sep 05, 2020 6:04 pm

I should add that this regression comes up in a second context. It also comes up on the "Link" box from clicking the "[...]" on the Shapes Entry in the Fusion properties. The non-functionality is identical so I am including this in the bug report.
TedM
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:30 pm

Re: BUG: Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Postby TedM » Sat Sep 05, 2020 6:34 pm

Added to bug tracker: issue #4428
realthunder
Posts: 1811
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: [Bug 4428] Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Postby realthunder » Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:32 am

PR submitted here.

The tree view search box in 0.18 was replaced by the expression completer, so that you can type in a fully qualified object path to find child object without ambiguity. Use DocumentName#ObjectName.SubObject to search for object in a particular document. You'll likely see these type of reference in error message in report view. Use <<Label>> to refer document/object by its label. The search also account for the current selected object in tree view. You can use expression start with a '.' to search child of the current selected object. The same thing goes for the search box in the link property editor.

This PR enables Qt::MatchContains filtering mode in the completer to support autocomplete with substring matching. It only works with Qt5. I've done some brief testing, and the performance seems fine. I have enabled substring matching in completer (i.e. property editor, spreadsheet, etc.) by default. It can be turned off by creating a boolean parameter BaseApp/Preferences/Expression/CompleterMatchExact, and set it to True.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 8803
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: [Bug 4428] Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Sep 11, 2020 5:17 pm

realthunder wrote:
Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:32 am
PR submitted here.
@realthunder, if there is a ticket open in Mantis, please reference it in the PR so it uses Github webhooks to autoclose ticket.
Fixes #4428
(doesn't have to be in the commit title, it can be added to the commit body).
See Tracker#GitHub_and_MantisBT
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
realthunder
Posts: 1811
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:55 am

Re: [Bug 4428] Search sometimes fails in 0.19 and is generally less functional then 0.18

Postby realthunder » Sat Sep 12, 2020 1:50 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 5:17 pm
@realthunder, if there is a ticket open in Mantis, please reference it in the PR so it uses Github webhooks to autoclose ticket.
Fixes #4428
(doesn't have to be in the commit title, it can be added to the commit body).
See Tracker#GitHub_and_MantisBT
Yes. Forgot about it.
Try Assembly3 (latest version 0.11) along with my custom build of FreeCAD at here.
And if you'd like to show your support, you can donate through patreon, liberapay, or paypal