Importing Step with Colors

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
NF6X

Importing Step with Colors

Post by NF6X »

Hi, everybody! This is my first post here, and I hope I'm doing it properly. I'm an electrical engineer who sometimes LARPs as a mechanical engineer. I've been using Fusion 360 for CAD/CAM (I have separate paid accounts for both personal stuff and my day job), but I'd sure like to get away from that locked-in cloud-based stuff. I'm giving FreeCAD v0.19 a look, but the first issue I've encountered is a show-stopper for me. I hope I'm just doing something wrong and it's not a FreeCAD 0.19 limitation.

First, for background, my main use cases for CAD/CAM are:

1) Preparing component CAD models for use in KiCad for PCB layout. Sometimes I make them from scratch, and sometimes I can get them from component manufacturers. Even when I can get them from others, I'll almost always need to do at least some minimal editing to position the model vs. the coordinate origin. Including face colors is critical for this application, and STEP is the necessary interchange format.

2) Designing stuff for 3D printing. I export to STL and slice in Simplify 3D.

3) Designing stuff for CNC milling. I use the CAM features in Fusion 360 to generate my G-code.

My issue here is that when I import a STEP model into FreeCAD, all of the face color details appear to be lost. I'm attaching a STEP model that I downloaded from a component manufacturer. It would need some CAD work to orient it properly for use in KiCad, but I'm showing it here just as I downloaded it after import into each tool.