DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
stefano1
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 3:15 pm

DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby stefano1 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:31 am

Hi!

v. 0.19: my project uses few spreadsheets and sketches/bodies (furniture panels). everything seems consistent but the report view prints a long list of "DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References". Google can't help. Does anybody know what it means?

Thanks!
User avatar
andergrin
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 7:52 am

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby andergrin » Thu Nov 19, 2020 11:52 am

You have some over constraint elements in sketch, check out Solver messages
chrisb
Posts: 30868
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby chrisb » Thu Nov 19, 2020 1:41 pm

If andergrin's suggestion doesn't help, upload the file.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
stefano1
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 3:15 pm

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby stefano1 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:57 pm

ok, I will triple-check all the sketches then.
in the meantime..which is the exact dimension in which sketch, that matches "dimensionXXX"?

this is an output:
[...]
Dimension096 has invalid 2D References
Dimension097 has invalid 2D References
Dimension022 has invalid 2D References
Dimension026 has invalid 2D References
Dimension029 has invalid 2D References

===== Start Solving System ======
TARGET POS-ACCURACY :1e-05
REACHED POS-ACCURACY :0.0
TARGET SPIN-ACCURACY :1e-05
REACHED SPIN-ACCURACY :0.0
SA SPIN-ACCURACY :0.0
===== System solved using partial + recursive unfixing =====
kisolre
Posts: 3030
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby kisolre » Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:28 pm

Please provide a file and your FreeCAD version info as per IMPORTANT link above.
chrisb
Posts: 30868
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby chrisb » Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:12 pm

I think it is more than just overconstraints. We have seen something similar with references via expressions, where the object got lost. I guess you still use 0.18 (you didn't add your FreeCAD info :roll: ), so I recommend to switch to 0.19. It has improved error and solver messages.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
jmaustpc
Posts: 10566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby jmaustpc » Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:35 pm

Have you used Draft WB dimensions in your file? Have you got a spreadsheet cell with an alias that contains a space, if so they will fail in an Expression.
stefano1
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 3:15 pm

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby stefano1 » Sun Nov 22, 2020 7:25 am

no draft WB, and the spreadsheets look ok - double-checked.
I noticed that 2 of my bodies miss their origin, and that is a red-alert in the report view. unfortunately I have no clue, how to reactivate it. any help?

uploading here my file would require a bit of cleanup so I guess I'm better fix all the issues like this "origin" stuff, before.
stefano1
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 3:15 pm

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby stefano1 » Mon Nov 23, 2020 9:10 am

Well, after a backup, I removed the bodies without origin from the project, plus some outdated techdraws and everything is OK now.
About the missed origins: is there a way to manage it, without redraw everything?
Thanks!
jmaustpc
Posts: 10566
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: DimensionXXX has invalid 2D References

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Nov 23, 2020 9:37 am

stefano1 wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 9:10 am
Well, after a backup, I removed the bodies without origin from the project, plus some outdated techdraws and everything is OK now.
About the missed origins: is there a way to manage it, without redraw everything?
Thanks!
Bodies can not have no axis system/origin, if they do then something is corrupted. I know this can happen if you drag and drop something in some circumstances in the treeview.

I think you will find that if you just create a new Body first, then right click on the components of the older corrupt body and select "move to another body", I think that will result in a new non-corrupt body. You may have to check that the attachments of the objects in the new body are set correctly.