Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
chrisb
Posts: 30661
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby chrisb » Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:41 am

I looked at the mesh in Cura and the tubes are indeed not connected to the injector body.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
jeno
Posts: 868
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:41 am

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby jeno » Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:53 am

maxcwy2017 wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:09 am
The cylinders are connected if according to CREO 4.0 because I was doing the model using that software and then import into FreeCAD.
According the obj-file (freecad export) they are not connected. They touch and intersect, but they are not connected with the main object.
See screenshot from Blender
injector.png
injector.png (122.02 KiB) Viewed 258 times
Kind regards
maxcwy2017
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby maxcwy2017 » Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:59 am

chrisb wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:32 am
maxcwy2017 wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:09 am
The cylinders are connected if according to CREO 4.0 because I was doing the model using that software and then import into FreeCAD.
Creo can most probably export to STEP, so you should use that format. STL or OBJ is really a bad format for transporting CAD models, because it is lossy. You can see this very well with the different solutions proposed here for the tip of the injector. And finally they may both be wrong.
I open through STEP file into FreeCAD and it seems that there are still gaps so now I think I should fix the gap between the connector and the model, is there any way to do that through FreeCAD?
maxcwy2017
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby maxcwy2017 » Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:00 am

jeno wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:53 am
maxcwy2017 wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:09 am
The cylinders are connected if according to CREO 4.0 because I was doing the model using that software and then import into FreeCAD.
According the obj-file (freecad export) they are not connected. They touch and intersect, but they are not connected with the main object.
See screenshot from Blenderinjector.png

Kind regards
I also wonder why because I do it through one body in CREO, I used to do the parts differently and it gives more problem. Is there any way to fix this?
maxcwy2017
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby maxcwy2017 » Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:01 am

Willem wrote:
Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:00 pm
Here a video about how to use the mesh ( OBJ file ) for creating a Freecad solid model
phpBB [video]
Thanks for your video. BTW how do you connect the points to the exact position because when I try to connect it, it seems to be always going off point.
jeno
Posts: 868
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:41 am

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby jeno » Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:25 am

maxcwy2017 wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:00 am
jeno wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:53 am
maxcwy2017 wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:09 am
The cylinders are connected if according to CREO 4.0 because I was doing the model using that software and then import into FreeCAD.
According the obj-file (freecad export) they are not connected. They touch and intersect, but they are not connected with the main object.
See screenshot from Blenderinjector.png

Kind regards
I also wonder why because I do it through one body in CREO, I used to do the parts differently and it gives more problem. Is there any way to fix this?
Just a guess. Did you perform an boolean union in CREO between the cylinders and the main object?

Kind regards
maxcwy2017
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby maxcwy2017 » Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:34 am

jeno wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:25 am
maxcwy2017 wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:00 am
jeno wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:53 am
maxcwy2017 wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:09 am
The cylinders are connected if according to CREO 4.0 because I was doing the model using that software and then import into FreeCAD.
According the obj-file (freecad export) they are not connected. They touch and intersect, but they are not connected with the main object.
See screenshot from Blenderinjector.png

Kind regards
I also wonder why because I do it through one body in CREO, I used to do the parts differently and it gives more problem. Is there any way to fix this?
Just a guess. Did you perform an boolean union in CREO between the cylinders and the main object?

Kind regards
I don't think I do any boolean union with the model, as I had done this model 2 months ago so I am trying to check back that what had I done and now I am having problems with CREO, therefore now I am trying to redownload it. Now I am also unsure that did I make this through one body or not.
chrisb
Posts: 30661
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby chrisb » Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:57 am

If you have many objects in creo which you want to have as solids in FreeCAD, then it may be sensible to invest time in finding the flaws in the workflow. From what I have seen here I would guess it is somewhere in the Creo export.

Beyond that, this time may be better invested in remodeling from scratch as Willem did. It will be a time saver and you can easily add some holes which are not present in the injector yet.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
maxcwy2017
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 2:30 pm

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby maxcwy2017 » Fri Nov 20, 2020 11:51 am

I guess it might be the assembly function did not link it up properly so that when I exported it, it shows a gap. Because the cylinders have 2 different angles among the each other, or can I just continue construct like what is shown by Willem?
chrisb
Posts: 30661
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Can't create solid because shape is not a shell

Postby chrisb » Fri Nov 20, 2020 1:36 pm

maxcwy2017 wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 11:51 am
or can I just continue construct like what is shown by Willem?
Of course you can. You would continue with a new sketch at which you change the AttachmentOffset so that it is slightly skewed.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.