Lost my work and cannot find it

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
foxint

Post by foxint »

Hi Guys

Again thanks for your help. I am in the country and NO ONE does FreeCad.

I know you will think I am an idiot, but I have lost my work.

I know there is a command “space bar” and the work is suppose to come back.

I think…. But I have lost my work and I need a way of finding it and centring it in the workspace.

Any suggestions??

Some how the work has got all bunched up and I cannot get it back.

Seems everytime I go out of Sketcher, the drawing get bunched up or is only 1 dot....yes I know I am not good at this, but I have to ask.

What have I done????
Attachments
2020-11-20-Lost my work.PNG
2020-11-20-Lost my work.PNG (159.43 KiB) Viewed 1810 times
Last edited by foxint on Fri Nov 20, 2020 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Lost my work and cannot find it

Post by chrisb »

You have zoomed all out. You can hide the grid and try View->StandardViews->FitAll, but I guess it will not help much, because your sketch is far off the center. You can zoom back in with the mouse or with CTRL and the "+" key. As soon as it goes out of sight recenter 3D view.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
foxint

Post by foxint »

Hi ChrisB

That worked. Thank you.

It seems to happen when I exit out of sketcher.

Crossing fingers it remains stable.

Thanks
chrisb
Veteran

Post by chrisb »

The Sketcher doesn't know how you previously have displayed the sketch, so he starts showing it all, which includes the origin. This changes nothing so it will remain stable.